# Other offenses and penalties associated with illegal use of Alcohol or Drugs REGARDLESS of AGE

## DUI with .20 or greater BAC

- ♦ Jail up to 1 year
- ♦ Fines to \$2,000
- Driver's License Suspended for 1 year after release from jail
- ♦ Harsher penalties for second offense

## **Aggravated DUI Conviction**

It is a felony to cause serious injury to another person while driving under the influence (DUI).

- Driver's License Suspention for up to
   years after release from jail
- ♦ Fines up to \$5,000
- ♦ Up to 10 years in jail

## How can you spot a DUI driver?

- ♦ Wide turns
- Crossing lines
- ♦ Weaving or swerving
- Stopping without cause
- Driving very fast or slow
- ♦ Slow response to traffic signals

The more of these signs the driver displays, the greater the chance that the driver is under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs.

## What can YOU do?

You can report the DUI driver by calling the REDDI (Report Every Drunk Driver Immediately) toll free number, 1-800-233-1212, or cellular \*ISP.

## What information do you need to report?

- ♦ Location
- ♦ Direction of travel
- Vehicle description (color, make, model)
- ♦ License plate number
- ♦ Number of people in vehicle
- ♦ Time observed

This brochure was produced by the Office of Highway Safety, Idaho Transportation Department. For information call (208) 334-8100 or write PO Box 7129, Boise, Idaho 83707-1129.



## Are You Under 21?



## To find out how to KEEP YOUR License

## Don't let this happen to YOU



Like it or not, if you are under 21, the law is very clear regarding the use of alcohol and/or drugs in Idaho.

## Whether you are driving or not,

possession or use of alcohol and/or drugs

is against the law.

## Choose NOT to Use Alcohol or Drugs

## Minor in Possession of Alcohol or Drugs

Misdemeanor conviction - Penalties include:

- ❖ Fines, maximum \$1,000 for first offense
- ♦ Driver's license suspended up to 1 year
- ♦ Possible jail time

### Use of an Altered or False ID

Misdemeanor conviction - Penalties include:

- ♦ Fines
- ♦ Driver's License Suspended

No matter how you look at it, illegal use of alcohol & drugs is

## **NOT WORTH IT!**



To see how IMPAIRMENT affects
YOUR DRIVING log onto www.xtr4.com.
Click on "Got Driving Game."

## ON THE SPOT License Suspension

Law enforcement officers will take your driver's license **ON THE SPOT** if you are arrested for DUI. On a first offense, you will lose your license for 90 days if you fail evidentiary testing or 1 year with no driving privileges and a \$250 civil penalty if you refuse to take a test. This is in addition to the criminal suspension and other penalties imposed by the court for a DUI offense.

## If you are UNDER 21 and found guilty of the CRIMINAL charge of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), YOU are subject to the following penalties:

### The FIRST DUI

- ♦ Driver's License Suspended for 1 year
- ♦ Undergo Alcohol Evaluation at your cost

### The SECOND DUI (Within 5 Years)

- ♦ Driver's License Suspended up to 2 years
- ♦ Fines up to \$2,000
- Undergo Alcohol Evaluation at your cost
- ♦ Jail 5 to 30 day
- ♦ Ignition interlock installation

## The THIRD DUI (Within 5 Years)

- Drivers License Suspended for a mandatory 1 year or until the age of 21—whichever is greater.
- ♦ Undergo Alcohol Evaluation at your cost
- ⇒ Jail 10 days to 6 months
- ♦ Ignition interlock installation