Protecting the lives, property, and constitutional rights of people in Idaho since 1919.
700 S. Stratford Drive Ste 115
Meridian, ID 83642
Toll Free: 888.222.1360
For your convenience, our lobby is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.
Click on this link to view, print and export current alcohol beverage licenses and permits.
Home Brewing Information
Recently we have had a lot of questions in regards to home brewing contests and other forms of competition. Idaho and Federal law allows the privilege of manufacturing wine or brewing beer for personal and family use in the privacy of your home without a brewery or winery license. Idaho State law does not permit an unlicensed person to allow their wine or beer to be consumed by the general public in such contests, competitions or exhibitions. If you intend to compete in a homemaker’s contest, competition or exhibition you must obtain the proper state, county, city and federal licensing. For more information click here. [pdf]
ABC is now on Facebook.
Chart of alcohol beverage license expiration date by county.
A list of the common alcohol beverage violations and penalties associated.
Guidelines to understanding the changes to the extension of credit statutes. [July 2011]
Information on the new State of Idaho Driver's Licenses and ID Cards. [June 2012]
Please read the above notice if you considering obtaining a liquor license in the State of Idaho. [posted July 2007]
Alcohol delivery information.
Click on the link below to find out about free training opportunities in August for your employees and business.
The fee for applicant fingerprint based background check is $41.50 based on the fee schedule from the FBI. Cards sent with the wrong amount will result in a return of the cards and license application and will delay processing. Your cooperation in this matter is greatly appreciated.
The Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau will update the population data based on the statistics from the US Census Bureau when the information is published later this year. New incorporated city license will offered after that time. [April 2014]
Please complete the Application for Winery Sponsored Event per Idaho Code 23-1338 and e-mail it to ABC for approval at firstname.lastname@example.org .
Winery Sponsored Event Form [word document]
Effective July 1, 2006, all wineries that ship wine directly to Idaho residents are required to get a Direct Shipper Permit from the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau. Please read all requirements and obtain the necessary instructions and forms from the Idaho State Tax Commission, web site: tax.idaho.gov. Please note: annual renewal forms are mailed 8 weeks prior to the expiration date on your permit. Please contact our office if you have further questions.
Generic form for the annual reporting requirements: Idaho Direct Shipper Report form [excel document]
Beer and Wine License Application [pdf]
Form for qualifying businesses selling or wishing to sell beer and/or wine by the drink or bottle.
Liquor License Application [pdf]
Application form for qualifying entities wishing to sell liquor by the drink. This form is for transfer of existing licenses or for a new specialty license. (See Liquor Priority List Application to apply to be on an Incorporated City Priority list)
Liquor Priority List Application [pdf]
Use this application to be placed on a priority list for an Incorporated City liquor by the drink license.
Wholesale License Application [pdf]
Use this form for a new license or to transfer or change your current license. (used only for wholesalers & distributors that will have an Idaho location and distribute beer/wine in Idaho)
Beer and Wine Permit for Benevolent, Charitable and Public Purpose Events [pdf]
Proceeds from the event (not to exceed three days) must be donated to a non-profit organization.
Certificate of Approval Application [pdf]
Use this application for a license to import beer into Idaho.
Supplemental Application for Brewers Pub or Retail License [pdf]
If your brewery produces less than thirty thousand barrels of beer annually, use this form to apply for a retail beer license or brewer's pub license.
Receipt for Sales of Beer in Kegs for Unlicensed Group or Individual [pdf]
Each business selling kegs of beer to go, must have a license and must complete this receipt for sales of beer in kegs. The form must be maintained at the licensed premise for 6 months.
If you experience any problems with the price posting program, please contact ABC at email@example.com