
Dyed Fuel Inspection
Per Idaho Code (IC) 49-676, effective January 1, 2021, the Idaho State Police (ISP) and Idaho 
Transportation Department (ITD), will perform a visual inspection and photograph samples of 
fuel from the main supply tank of qualifying vehicles for the presence of dye. 

• Qualified vehicles are those that meet Idaho Code 49-123(2)(d) and (2)(e) definitions and
are over 26,000lbs GVW.

• ITD Port of Entry Inspectors may inspect fuel and tanks during a routine fixed or roving
port inspection

• ISP Troopers may inspect fuel and tanks as a secondary action during a traffic stop

Penalties 
A civil penalty will be assessed if: 

1. You refuse to allow inspection; or
2. There is visible evidence of dye in the visual inspection.

The penalties are as follows: 

1. $250 for the first offense,
2. $500 for the second offense, or
3. $1,000 for a third and any subsequent offenses.

There is a $1,000 penalty for refusing the inspection. 

For more information 
If you have questions pertaining to billing and penalties please contact Tax 
Commission at (800) 972-7660.
If you have further questions pertaining to testing, or testing locations please contact 
ISP at (208) 884-7220, or ITD at (208) 334-8427.

Authority:   IC 49-676 
IC 63-2425 
IC 63-2460 
IC 40-510 

Procedures
An Inspector will now, inspect our tank for dyed fuel. 

• First a visual inspection will be done.
• If the fuel is obscured or the inspector detects the presence of dyed fuel, a cotton swab will be

dipped into your tank.
• If the cotton swab produces evidence of dyed fuel, the test will be documented and a citation

issued.




