’'s 0.08% i
Idaho’s 0.08% How can YOU avoid DUI? What YOU
The best way to avoid a DUI is to not
B Ac Law drink and drive. If you are with a group,
designate a sober driver, take a taxi, or make
Remember . . . it is illegal to drive in Idaho arrangements before you go out drinking to hou Id Kn ow

with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or have someone drive you home.

more (and just 0.02% for drivers under 21). At

0.08% BAC you might not notice any visible How can you spot a DUI driver?

signs. While some people might be able to cover ) about Idaho,s
Wide turns

the outward signs, no one—no matter what they LUTTE
say — can change the body’s reaction to alcohol. Crossing lines .
At just 0.05% BAC, reflex time and depth Weaving or swerving

perception can be impaired. At 0.08% BAC, even StQPng without cause D UI Laws
“experienced” drinkers show driving skill Driving very fast or SI.OW'

impairment. So watch how much you drink. And Slow response to traffic signals

how much your friends drink. The more of these signs the driver
displays, the greater the chance that the
driver is under the influence of alcohol
and/or other drugs.

What can YOU do?

You can report the DUI driver by
calling the REDDI (Report Every Drunk
Driver Immediately) toll free number,
1-800-233-1212, or cellular *ISP.
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What information do you
need to report?

¢ Location

¢ Direction of travel

¢ Vehicle description

¢ License plate number

¢ Number of people in vehicle

Kee p Id a h o s This brochure was produced by the Idaho Transportation

Department. For information call (208) 334-8100 or write

Ro d u" s s f PO. Box 7129, Boise, Idaho 83707-1129.
. av aie (Idaho Code 18-8004)
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You Deserve a
Safe Highway

As public attitudes have changed, the
percentage of alcohol-related collisions has
decreased. But, impaired driving still takes far too
great a human and economic toll.

Over 39% of Idaho fatal collisions are caused
by people driving under the influence of alcohol
and/or other drugs. In Idaho, it is illegal to drive
under the influence of drugs or with a breath
alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more,
and 0.02% or greater if you are under 21. It is also
illegal to operate a commercial vehicle with a BAC
level of 0.04% or more.

How Idaho’s DUI
Laws Work

Idaho law enforcement officers are trained to
detect a person driving under the influence (DUI).
Each year, over 10,000 drivers are arrested in Idaho
for DUL If you drive under the influence, the
chances are you will be arrested. If the police officer
has cause to believe that you are driving under the
influence, you will be asked to take a BAC test.

Under Idaho law, if you refuse, your driver’s
license will be taken away and your driving
privileges will be suspended for 1 year along with
a $250 civil penalty. If the officer suspects you are
using drugs, he can request an additional test to
determine drug use.

If you are found guilty of
the CRIMINAL charge of
driving under the influence,

you are subject to the
following penalties:

(Idaho Code 18-8005)

The FIRST DUI

¢ Misdemeanor violation

¢ Jail: up to 6 months

¢ Fines: up to $1,000

¢ License suspension: 90 to 180 days

The SECOND DUl within 10 Years

¢ Misdemeanor violation

¢ Jail: 10 days mandatory, up to 1 year

¢+ Fines: up to $2,000

¢+ License suspension: 1 year mandatory after
release from confinement with no driving
privileges of any kind

¢ Ignition interlock mandatory

The THIRD DUI within 10 Years

¢ Felony violation

¢ Jail: 30 days mandatory, up to 5 years

¢ Fines: up to $5,000

¢ License suspension: Up to 5 years, 1 year
mandatory after release from confinement
with no driving privileges of any kind

¢ Ignition interlock mandatory

Enhanced Penalties
for BAC Levels of
0.20% or Greater

First Offense

¢ Misdemeanor violation

¢ Jail: 10 days mandatory, up to 1 year

¢ Fines: up to $2,000

¢ License suspension: 1 year mandatory after
release from confinement with no driving
privileges of any kind

Second Offense within 5 Years

¢ Felony violation

¢ Jail: mandatory 30 days in the county jail, or
up to 5 years in the state penitentiary

¢ Fines: up to $5,000

4 License suspension: up to 5 years, 1 year
mandatory after release from confinement
with no driving privileges of any kind

¢ Ignition interlock mandatory

Aggravated DUI

It is a felony to cause serious injury to another
person while driving under the influence. Jail time,
fines and driving suspension are enhanced.

What YOU should know about

Idaho’s Repeat DUI Offender Law
(Idaho Code 18-8008)

As a weapon against the dangers of repeat
drunk drivers Idaho requires the installation of
a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device
(BAIID) on any vehicle a repeat DUI offender
drives. This device requires a breath sample and
if alcohol is detected the car will not start.




