Request an Idaho State Police Ride-Along

Thank you for your interest in riding along with the Idaho State Police. Please take note of the following that would prevent you from being qualified for a ride-along prior to filling out the form.

Do not apply if you:
  • Have any felony conviction;
  • Have any misdemeanor conviction within 5 years of your application date;
  • Have ever been decertified as a peace officer in any state or jurisdiction;
  • Have been given any of the following Military Discharges: Bad Conduct Discharge (BCD), Dishonorable Discharge (DD), or Administrative Discharge other than Honorable (OTH);
  • Do not meet the requirements of the Idaho State Police Drug Policy;
  • Have ever been fired from a job, with just cause, for any of the following reasons:
    • Theft of company property;
    • Misuse of company or department finances;
    • Falsification of time reporting or other official documents;
    • Sick leave abuse (use of sick time in violation of applicable laws, rules and procedures);
    • Drug or alcohol use that negatively affected job performance; or
    • Committing any form of illegal harassment.
Conviction for the purposes of ISP employment means that you have pled guilty or have been found guilty, notwithstanding the form of the judgment or withheld judgment. Requests to waive any of the listed disqualifications are rarely considered and require the written approval of the ISP Director.

If none of the issues listed above apply to you please fill out the following form:

Ride-Along Request Form

    Date of Birth (Month dd yyyy)*

    Select the District in which you would like to go on the ride-along *


    District 1 - 615 West Wilbur Ave. - Coeur d'Alene, ID 83815    Counties: Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Kootenai, Shoshone

    District 2 - 2700 North and South Highway - Lewiston, ID 83501-1732    Counties: Clearwater, Idaho, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce

    Due to staffing issues, ride-alongs in District 3 are temporarily suspended.

    District 4 - 218 W. Yakima – Jerome, ID 83338-5904    Counties: Blaine, Camas, Cassia, Gooding, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka, Twin Falls

    District 5 - 5255 South 5th Avenue, Suite 1 – Pocatello, ID 83204    Counties: Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Caribou, Franklin, Oneida, Power

    District 6 - 1540 Foote Drive – Idaho Falls, ID 83402-1828    Counties: Bonneville, Butte, Clark, Custer, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, Teton

    ver: 1.0.0 | last updated: