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(785) 296-2215 e FAX (785) 296-6296
WWW.AG.KS.GOV

May 26, 2020

Ms. Meritt Dublin

Lead Deputy Attorney General

Criminal Law Division, Idaho State Police

Office of Idaho Attorney General, Lawrence G. Wasden
700 S. Stratford Dr.

Meriden, Id. 83642

RE: Reciprocity/Recognition of Idaho Concealed Carry Licenses
Dear Ms. Dublin:

You have written to Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt (OAG), asking that we

review the Idaho concealed carry handgun licenses (ICCHL) for possible recognition.
Please accept the information contained in this letter regarding the state of Kansas

concealed carry handgun laws as a response to your inquiry.

In Kansas, our concealed carry licensing statutes are known as the “personal and family
protection act” (PFPA, K.S.A. 75-7¢c01 et seq., attached). While we still issue CCHLs to
persons who have been vetted via a fingerprint-based background check (to include a
NICS check) — that CCHL is no longer required under current Kansas law in order for a
person at least 21 years of age to concealed carry a handgun. Kansas law, beginning in
2015, now also allows unlicensed concealed carry (UCC) for persons who are at least 21
years of age. This allowance is not limited to Kansas residents and does not require any
formal or informal agreement of the Kansas CCHL being recognized in order for non-
Kansans to partake in UCC. Consequently, Idaho residents who are at least 21 years of
age (whether they have an ICCHL or not) may generally engage in UCC while visiting
Kansas (there are state and federal exceptions). It is now a misdemeanor crime for a
person less than 21 years of age to carry concealed firearms in Kansas, even if that
person has been issued a CCHL from another state. See, A.G. Opinion 2017-018
(attached).




The 2015 amendments to the PFPA made the authority of the OAG to enter into formal
CCHL recognition agreements with other jurisdictions unclear. As such, the OAG simply
asks that your 2019 letter and this response serve as updated, informal
acknowledgments that both Idaho and Kansas laws allow, at a minimum, persons who
are at least 21 years of age and licensed to carry concealed handguns to carry (a)
concealed handgun(s) in both Kansas and Idaho.

The OAG has sought statutory amendments to restore the explicit language allowing the
attorney general to enter into formal reciprocity agreements. That legislation has been
adopted by the Kansas House of Representatives, but has not yet been approved by the
Kansas Senate. Should Kansas adopt this legislation or other similar amendments to
again allow formal recognition of concealed carry reciprocity, we will certainly provide
you with a further update.

| am leaving my position at the beginning of June, 2020. If we can be of any further
assistance, please feel free to contact my successor, Ms. Sara Miller at 785-368-8415
sara.miller@ag.ks.gov.

Sincerely,

) /( e
Qﬂﬁrh’fwwlaggé

Director and Assistant Attorney General

Enc: Kansas A.G. Opinion, 2017-018; PFPA
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STATE OF KANSAS

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GEHERAL

DEREK SCHMIDT

December 12, 2017

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION NO. 2017-18

The Honorable John E. Barker
State Representative, 70" District
103 Wassinger Ave.

Abilene, KS 67410

Re: Crimes and Punishments—Crimes Against the Public Safety—Criminal
Carrying of a Weapon

State Departments; Public Officers and Employees—Firearms—Personal and
Family Protection Act; License to Carry Concealed Handgun

Synopsis: It is unlawful for a person 18 to 20 years of age to carry a concealed
handgun except when on the person’s land or in the person’s abode or
fixed place of business. Cited herein: K.S.A. 21-4201; K.S.A. 2015 Supp.
21-6302; K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 75-7c01; K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 75-7c04; K.S.A.
2017 Supp. 75-7c04.

Dear Representative Barker:

As the State Representative for the 70" District, you ask for our opinion regarding
whether, under current Kansas law, a person 18 to 20 years of age ifiay lawfully carry a
concealed handgun. For the reasons described below, we believe the answer to your
question is no.

Prior to the 2006 enactment of the Personal and Family Protection Act (PFPA)',
commonly known as the concealed carry law, it was generally unlawful for any person

1 K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 75-7c01 et seq.



The Honorable John Barker
Page 2

to knowingly carry any concealed firearm “except when on the person’s land or in the
person’s abode or fixed place of business.”? Therefore, even without the availability of
concealed carry licenses, a person. 18 to 20 years of age could lawfully carry a
concealed handgun on his or her land or in his or her abode or fixed place of business.

Since the enactment of the PFPA in 2006, the availability of Kansas concealed carry
licenses has been limited to persons at least 21 years of age.? In 2013, the PFPA was
amended to allow concealed carry licenses issued by other jurisdictions to be
‘recognized” in Kansas, irrespective of whether the requirements for those licenses
were consistent with Kansas law.# Such recognition “entitle[d] the lawful holder thereof
to carry concealed handguns . . . in this state. . . ” and was limited to non-Kansas
residents.® Thus, a non-resident who did not necessarily meet Kansas’ requirements for
a concealed carry license, such as minimum age requirements, could lawfully carry a
concealed handgun in Kansas so long as he or she had a valid license issued by
another jurisdiction.

As you note in your letter, in 2015 the Kansas Legislature passed Senate Bill 45 (SB
45),6 which amended various laws governing the carrying of firearms. SB 45 amended
the PFPA to strike all statutory provisions allowing other jurisdictions’ concealed carry
licenses to be recognized in Kansas.”

SB 45 also amended K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6302(a)(4), the statute that generally
criminalized concealed carry except when on the person’s land or in the person’s abode
or fixed place of business, to read as follows:

Criminal carrying of a weapon is knowingly carrying:

Any pistol, revolver or other firearm concealed on one’s person if such
person is under 21 years of age, except when on such person’s land or in
such person’s abode or fixed place of business.? '

The same statute was also amended to remove a provision which said that K.S.A. 21-
6302(a)(4) shall not apply to “any person carrying a concealed handgun as authorized
by [the PFPA]."

2 K.S.A. 21-4201(a)(4). In 2011 this statute was repealed and the quoted provision was recodified at
K.S.A. 21-6302. See L. 2011, Ch. 30, § 49.

3K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 75-7c04(a)(3).

4L.2013, Ch. 36, § 4.

5K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 75-7c03(c)(1).

6L.2015, Ch. 16.

7ld.

8 K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 21-6302(a)(4) (emphasis added).

®L.2015,Ch. 16, § 8.
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Taken together, the SB 45 amendments clarified that concealed carry by a person
under 21 years of age is illegal except when on that person’s land or in their home or
fixed place of business, and statutory provisions that could have provided an exception
through recognition of out-of-state concealed carry licenses were stricken. Legislation
was introduced during the 2017 session to reinstate the recognition of other
jurisdictions’ licenses,’0 but that bill has not yet passed either chamber. As a
consequence, concealed carry by persons 18 and 20 years of age is illegal except in
limited circumstances as described above.

To summarize, prior to July 1, 2015, it was generally unlawful to carry a concealed
handgun in Kansas without a license. Then, as now, Kansas law prohibited the
issuance of concealed carry licenses to persons under the age of 21.

Between July 1, 2013 and July 1, 2015, a non-Kansas resident 18 to 20 years of age
could lawfully carry a concealed handgun in Kansas if that person possessed a valid
license issued by another jurisdiction. Following the enactment of SB 45, which became
effective July 1, 2015, itis a crime for persons under the age of 21 to carry a concealed
handgun except in limited circumstances, and Kansas law no longer allows out-of-state
concealed carry licenses {0 be recognized.

Sincerely,
/s/Derek Schmidt
Derek Schmidt
Attorney General
/s/Sarah Fertig
Sarah Fertig

Assistant Attorney General

DS:AA:SF:sb

-
10 2017 House Bill 2042. This bill was reported favorably for passage by the House Committee on Federal
and State Affairs on March 16, 2017. See 2017 House Journal 456.






Updated: July 2018 !

Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act
K.S.A. 75-7c01 et seq.

75-7¢01
Chapter 75.-STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢01. Personal and family protection act; citation of act.

K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c01 through 75-7¢23, and amendments thereto, shall be known and may
be cited as the personal and family protection act.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 1; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 1; L. 2015, ch. 16, §7; July 1.
75-7¢02
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS
75-7¢02. Definitions. As used in the personal and family protection act:
(a) "Attorney general" means the attorney general of the state of Kansas.

(b) "Handgun" means “firearm” as defined in K.S.A. 75-7b01, and amendments thereto.

(c) "Athletic event" means athletic instruction, practice or competition held at any location and
including any number of athletes.

(d) “Dependent” means a resident of the household of an active duty military member of any
branch of the armed forces of the United States who depends in whole or substantial part upon
the member for financial support.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 2; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 2; July 1.
75-7¢03
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢03. License to carry concealed handgun; issuance; form.

! The 2018 legislative session saw no amendments to the PFPA itself; however, per a budget proviso for fiscal year
2019 (July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2019), the legislature has reduced attorney general’s portion of the initial
concealed carry application fee from $100 to $79.50 (all other application and licensure fees remain the same). 2018
House Substitute for Senate Bill 109, § 39. See footnote 2 below within K.S.A. 75-7c05(b);
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(a) The attorney general shall issue licenses to carry concealed handguns to persons who comply
with the application and training requirements of this act and who are not disqualified under the
provisions of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto. Such licenses shall be valid
throughout the state for a period of four years from the date of issuance. The availability of
licenses to carry concealed handguns under this act shall not be construed to impose a general
prohibition on the carrying of handguns without such license, whether carried openly or
concealed, or loaded or unloaded.

(b) The license shall be a separate card, in a form prescribed by the attorney general, that is
approximately the size of a Kansas driver's license and shall bear the licensee's signature, name,
address, date of birth and driver's license number or nondriver's identification card number
except that the attorney general shall assign a unique number for military applicants or their
dependents described in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢05(a)(1)(B), and amendments thereto.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 3; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 1; L. 2009, ch. 101, § 1; L. 2010, ch. 140, §3;
L. 2011, ch. 30, § 266; July 1; L. 2013, ch. 36, § 4; L. 2015, ch. 16, § 8; July 1.

75-7¢04
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7c04. Same; disqualifications; handgun safety and training course; training
requirements for license in other jurisdictions, list.

(a) The attorney general shall not issue a license pursuant to this act if the applicant:

(1) Is not a resident of the county where application for licensure is made or is not a resident of
the state;

(2) 1s prohibited from shipping, transporting, possessing or receiving a firearm or ammunition
under 18 U.S.C. 922(g) or (n), and amendments thereto, or K.S.A. 21-4204, prior to its repeal, or
K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-6301(a)(10) through (a)(13) or K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-6304(a)(1) through
(a)(3), and amendments thereto; or

(3) is less than 21 years of age.

(b) (1) The attorney general shall adopt rules and regulations establishing procedures and
standards as authorized by this act for an eight-hour handgun safety and training course required
by this section. Such standards shall include:
(A) A requirement that trainees receive training in the safe storage of handguns, actual firing of
handguns and instruction in the laws of this state governing the carrying of concealed handguns
and the use of deadly force;
(B) general guidelines for courses which are coitipatible with the industry standard for basic
handgun training for civilians;
(C) qualifications of instructors; and
(D) a requirement that the course be:
(1) A handgun course certified or sponsored by the attorney general; or
(i1) a handgun course certified or sponsored by the national rifle association or by a law
enforcement agency, college, private or public institution or organization or handgun
training school, if the attorney general determines that such course meets or exceeds the
standards required by rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general and is taught
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by instructors certified by the attorney general or by the national rifle association, if the
attorney general determines that the requirements for certification of instructors by such
association meet or exceed the standards required by rules and regulations adopted by the
attorney general. Any person wanting to be certified by the attorney general as an
instructor shall submit to the attorney general an application in the form required by the
attorney general and a fee not to exceed $150.

(2) The cost of the handgun safety and training course required by this section shall be paid by

the applicant. The following shall constitute satisfactory evidence of satisfactory completion of

an approved handgun safety and training course:

(A) Evidence of completion of a course that satisfies the requirements of subsection (b)(1), in the

form provided by rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general;

(B) an affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught

such course attesting to the completion of the course by the applicant;

(C) evidence of completion of a course offered in another jurisdiction which is determined by the

attorney general to have training requirements that are equal to or greater than those required by

this act; or

(D) a determination by the attorney general pursuant to subsection {c).

(¢) The attorney general may:

(1) Create a list of concealed carry handgun licenses or permits issued by other jurisdictions which
the attorney general finds have training requirements that are equal to or greater than those of this
state; and (2) review each application received pursuant to K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢05, and
amendments thereto, to determine if the applicant’s previous training qualifications were equal to
or greater than those of this state.

(d) For the purposes of this section:

(1) “Equal to or greater than” means the applicant’s prior training meets or exceeds the training
established in this act by having required, at a minimum, the applicant to: (A) Receive
instruction on the laws of self-defense; and (B) demonstrate training and competency in the safe
handling, storage and actual firing of handguns.

(2) “Jurisdiction” means another state or the District of Columbia.

(3) “License or permit” means a concealed carry handgun license or permit from another
jurisdiction which has not expired and, except for any residency requirement of the issuing
jurisdiction, is currently in good standing.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 4; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 2; July 1; L. 2007, ch. 166, § 4; L. 2008, ch.
162, § 3; L. 2009, ch. 101, § 2; L. 2010, ch.140, § 4; L. 2011, ch. 30, § 267; July 1; L. 2013, ch.
36 § 5; L. 2014, ch. 97, § 15; L. 2015, ch. 16, § 9; L. 2015, ch. 93, § 2; L. 2016, ch. 86, § 3; July
1.

75-7¢05
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢05. Same; application; fees; fingerprints; criminal history records report; issuance or
denial of license; retired law enforcement officers; corrections officers.



(a) The application for a license pursuant to this act shall be completed, under oath, on a form

prescribed by the attorney general and shall only include:
(1)(A) Subject to the provisions of (a)(1)(B), the name, address, social security number,
Kansas driver's license number or Kansas nondriver's license identification number, place
and date of birth, a photocopy of the applicant’s driver’s license or nondriver’s
identification card and a photocopy of the applicant’s certificate of training course
completion; (B) in the case of an applicant who presents proof that such person is on
active duty with any branch of the armed forces of the United States, or is a dependent of
such a person, and who does not possess a Kansas driver’s license or Kansas non-driver’s
license information, the number of such license or identification shall not be required;

(2) a statement that the applicant is in compliance with criteria contained within K.S.A. 2016

Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto;

(3) a statement that the applicant has been furnished a copy of this act and is knowledgeable of

its provisions;

(4) a conspicuous warning that the application is executed under oath and that a false answer to

any question, or the submission of any false document by the applicant, subjects the applicant to

criminal prosecution under K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-5903, and amendments thereto; and

(5) a statement that the applicant desires a concealed handgun license as a means of lawful self-

defense.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (i), the applicant shall submit to the sheriff of the
county where the applicant resides, during any normal business hours:

(1) A completed application described in subsection (a);

(2) anonrefundable license fee of $132.50, if the applicant has not prev10usly been issued a
statewide license or if the applicant's license has permanently expired, which fee shall be in the
form of two cashier checks, personal checks or money orders of $32.50 payable to the sheriff of
the county where the applicant resides and $100 payable to the attorney general ;?

(3) if applicable, a photocopy of the proof of training required by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-
7c04(b)(1), and amendments thereto; and

(4) a full frontal view photograph of the applicant taken within the preceding 30 days.

(¢) (1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (i), the sheriff, upon receipt of the items listed
i subsection (b) shall provide for the full set of fingerprints of the applicant to be taken and
forwarded to the attorney general for purposes of a criminal history records check as provided by
subsection (d). In addition, the sheriff shall forward to the attorney general the application and
the portion of the original license fee which is payable to the attorney general. The cost of taking
such fingerprints shall be included in the portion of the fee retained by the sheriff.
Notwithstanding anything in this section to the contrary, an applicant shall not be required to
submit fingerprints for a renewal application under K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c08, and amendments
thereto.

(2) The sheriff of the applicaii's county of residence or the chief law enforcement officer of any
law enforcement agency, at the sheriff's or chief law enforcement officer's discretion, may
participate in the process by submitting a voluntary report to the attorney general containing
readily discoverable information, corroborated through public records, which, when combined
with another enumerated factor, establishes that the applicant poses a significantly greater threat
to law enforcement or the public at large than the average citizen. Any such voluntary reporting

* As noted above in footnote 1, beginning July 1, 2018 and ending June 30, 2019, the fee paid to the attorney general
in an initial application was reduced from $100.00 to $79.50 via a budget proviso adopted by the Legislature during
the 2018 session.
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shall be made within 45 days after the date the sheriff receives the application. Any sheriff or
chief law enforcement officer submitting a voluntary report shall not incur any civil or criminal
liability as the result of the good faith submission of such report.

(3) All funds retained by the sheriff pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be credited to
a special fund of the sheriff's office which shall be used solely for the purpose of administering
this act.

(d) Each applicant shall be subject to a state and national criminal history records check which
conforms to applicable federal standards, including an inquiry of the national instant criminal
background check system for the purpose of verifying the identity of the applicant and whether
the applicant has been convicted of any crime or has been the subject of any restraining order or
any mental health related finding that would disqualify the applicant from holding a license
under this act. The attorney general is authorized to use the information obtained from the state
or national criminal history record check to determine the applicant's eligibility for such license.

(e) Within 90 days after the date of receipt of the items listed in subsection (b), the attorney
general shall:

(1) Issue the license and certify the issuance to the department of revenue; or

(2) deny the application based solely on: (A) The report submitted by the sheriff or other chief
law enforcement officer under subsection (c)(2) for good cause shown therein; or (B) the ground
that the applicant is disqualified under the criteria listed in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c04, and
amendments thereto. If the attorney general denies the application, the attorney general shall
notify the applicant in writing, stating the ground for denial and informing the applicant the
opportunity for a hearing pursuant to the Kansas administrative procedure act.

(f) Each person issued a license shall pay to the department of revenue a fee for the cost of the
license, which shall be in amounts equal to the fee required pursuant to K.S.A. 8-243 and 8-246,
and amendments thereto, for replacement of a driver's license.

(2)(1) A person who is a retired law enforcement officer, as defined in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-
5111, and amendments thereto, shall be: (A) Required to pay an original license fee as provided
in subsection (b)(2), to be forwarded by the sheriff to the attorney general; (B) exempt from the
required completion of a handgun safety and training course if such person was certified by the
Kansas commission on peace officer’s standards and training, or similar body, not more than
eight years prior to submission of the application; (C) required to pay the license renewal fee;
(D) required to pay to the department of revenue the fees required by subsection (f); and (E)
required to comply with the criminal history records check requirement of this section.

(2) Proof of retirement as a law enforcement officer shall be required and provided to the
attorney general in the form of a letter from the agency head, or their designee, of the officer’s
retiring agency that attests to the officer having retired in good standing from that agency as a
law enforcement officer for reasons other than mental instability and that the officer has a
nonforfeitable right to benefits under a retirement plan of the agency.

(h) A person who is a corrections officer; a parole officer or a corrections officer employed by
the federal bureau of prisons, as defined by K.S.A. 75-5202, and amendments thereto, shall be:
(1) Required to pay on original license fee as provided in subsection (b)(2); (2) exempt from the
required completion of a handgun safety and training course if such person was issued a
certificate of firearms training by the department of corrections or the federal bureau of prisons
or similar body not more than one year prior to submission of the application; (3) required to pay
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the license renewal fee; (4) required to pay to the department of revenue the fees required by
subsection (f); and (5) requlred to comply with the criminal history records check requirement of
this sectlon :

(1) A person who presents proof that such person is on active duty with any branch of the armed

- forces of the United States and is stationed at a United States military installation located outside
this state, may submit by mail an application described in subsection (a) and the other materials
required by subsection (b) to the sheriff of the county where the applicant resides. Provided the
applicant is fingerprinted at a United States military installation, the applicant may submit a full
set of fingerprints of such applicant along with the application. Upon receipt of such items, the
sheriff shall forward to the attorney general the application and the portion of the original license
fee which is payable to the attorney general.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 5; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 3; L. 2009, ch. 101, § 3; L. 2010, ch. 140, §5;
L. 2011, ch. 30, § 268; July 1; L. 2013, ch. 36, § 6; July 1; L. 2013, ch. 105, § 7; L. 2015, ch. 16
§ 10; L. 2016, ch. 86, § 4; July 1.

>

75-7¢06
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢06. Same; records related to licenses, disclosure; address change or loss or destruction
of license, requirements.

(2) The attorney general shall be the official custodian of all records relating to licenses issued
pursuant to the personal and family protection act.

(b) Except as provided by subsections (c) and (d), records relating to persons issued licenses
pursuant to this act, persons applying for licenses pursuant to this act or persons who have had a
license denied pursuant to this act shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed pursuant to the
Kansas open records act. Any disclosure of a record in violation of this subsection is a class A
misdemeanor.

- (¢) Records of a person whose license has been suspended or revoked pursuant to this act shall
be subject to public inspection in accordance with the open records act.

(d) The attorney general shall maintain an automated listing of license holders and pertinent
information, and such information shall be available at all times to all law enforcement agencies
in this state, other states and the District of Columbia when requested for a legitimate law
enforcernicitpurpose. :

(e) Within 30 days after the changing of a permanent address, or within 30 days after the
discovery that a license has been lost or destroyed, the licensee shall notify the attorney general
of such change, loss or destruction. The attorney general, upon notice and opportunity for
hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act, may order
a licensee to pay a fine of not more than $100, or may suspend the licensee's license for not more
than 180 days, for fallure to notlfy the attorney general pursuant to the provisions of this -
subsection.



(f) In the event that a concealed handgun license is lost or destroyed, the license shall be
automatically invalid, and the person to whom the license was issued, upon payment of $15 to
the attorney general, may obtain a duplicate, or substitute thereof, upon furnishing a notarized
statement to the attorney general that such license has been lost or destroyed.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 6; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 4; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 6; July 1; L. 2013, ch.
105, § 8; July 1.

75-7¢07
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢07. Same; denial, revocation or suspension; change of residency.

(a) In accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act, the attorney
general shall deny a license to any applicant for license who is ineligible under K.S.A. 2016
Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto, and, except as provided by subsection (b), shall revoke
at any time the license of any person who would be ineligible under K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢04,
and amendments thereto, if submitting an application for a license at such time. Review by the
district court in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act shall be, at the option of the party
seeking review, in Shawnee county or the county in which the petitioner resides. The revocation
shall remain in effect pending any appeal and shall not be stayed by the court.

(b) The license of a person who is charged for an offense or is subject to a proceeding that could
render the person ineligible pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢04, and
amendments thereto, shall be subject to suspension and shall be reinstated upon final disposition
of the charge or outcome of the proceeding as long as the arrest or proceeding does not result in a
disqualifying conviction, commitment, finding or order.

() The sheriff of the county where a restraining order is issued that would prohibit issuance ofa
license under subsection (a) (2) of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto, shall
notify the attorney general immediately upon receipt of such order. If the person subject to the
restraining order holds a license issued pursuant to this act, the attorney general immediately
shall suspend such license upon receipt of notice of the issuance of such order. The attorney
general shall adopt rules and regulations establishing procedures which allow for 24-hour
notification and suspension of a license under the circumstances described in this subsection.
The attorney general shall immediately reinstate the license, if it has not otherwise expired, upon
proof of the cancellation of the order.

(d)(1) If the provisions of paragraph (2) are met, a license issued pursuant to this act shall not be
revoked until 90 days after the person issued such license is no longer a resident of this state, if
being a nonresident of this state is the only grounds for revocation.

(2) A license issued pursuant to this act shall be considered valid for 90 days after a licensee is
no longer a resident of Kansas, provided that: (A) Prior to the change in residency, the licensee
notified the attorney general in writing of the pending change; and (B) the licensee’s new state of



residence, or any other state or jurisdiction that the licensee travels to during the 90 day period,
would recognize such a license as valid.

(¢) A person who has been issued a license pursuant to this act and who gave up residency in this
state, but has returned to reside in this state shall be eligible to have their license reinstated as
valid provided that: (1) The license has not expired; and (2)(A) the licensee notified the attorney
general in writing of both the residency departure and relocation back to this state; or (B) if such
licensee failed to comply with the notification requirements of this subsection, the penalty
provisions of subsection (e) of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢06, and amendments thereto, have been
satisfied.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 7; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 5; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 7; July 1; L. 2013, ch.
36,8 7; July 1.

75-7¢08
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢08. Same; renewal; fees; permanent expiration, when.

(a) Not less than 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license, the attorney general shall
mail to the licensee a written notice of the expiration and a renewal form prescribed by the
attorney general. The licensee shall renew the license on or before the expiration date by filing
with the attorney general the renewal form, a notarized affidavit, either in person or by certified
mail, stating that the licensee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified in K.S.A. 2016
Supp. 75-7¢04, and amendments thereto, a full frontal view photograph of the applicant taken
within the preceding 30 days and a nonrefundable license renewal fee of $25 payable to the
attorney general. The attorney general shall complete a name-based background check, including
a search of the national instant criminal background check system database. A licensee who fails
to file a renewal application on or before the expiration date of the license must pay an additional
late fee of $15. A renewal application is considered filed on the date the renewal form, affidavit,
and required fees are delivered in person to the attorney general’s office or on the date a certlﬁed
mailing to the attorney general’s office containing these items is postmarked.

(b) Upon receipt of a renewal application as specified in subsection (a), a background check in -
accordance with subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢05, and amendments thereto, shall be
completed. Fingerprints shall not be required for renewal applications. If the licensee is not
disqualified as provided by this act, the license shall be renewed upon receipt by the attorney
general of the items listed in subsection (a) and the completion of the background check.

(c) No license shall be renewed if the renewal application is filed six months or more after the
expiration date of the license, and such license shall be deemed to be permanently expired. A
person whose license has been permanently expired may reapply for licensure but an application
for licensure and fees pursuant to K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢05, and amendments thereto, shall be
submitted, and a background investigation, including fingerprints, shall be conducted pursuant to
the provisions of that section.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 8; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 6; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 8; July 1.
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75-7¢09
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢09. False statements, warning on application.

The application form for an original license and for a renewal license shall include, in a
conspicuous place, the following: "WARNING: A false statement on this application may
subject the applicant to prosecution for the crime of perjury (K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-5903, and
amendments thereto)."

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 9; L. 2011, ch. 30, § 269; July 1.

75-7¢10
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢10. Same; restrictions on carrying concealed handgun; exceptions; liabilities;
employees permitted to carry; penalties for violations; sign requirements.

Subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢20, and amendments thereto:

(a) The carrying of a concealed handgun shall not be prohibited in any building unless such
building is conspicuously posted in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the
attorney general.

(b) Nothing in this act shall be construed to prevent:

(1) any private employer from restricting or prohibiting by personnel policies persons from
carrying a concealed handgun while on the premises of the employer’s business or while
engaged in the duties of the person’s employment by the employer, except that no employer may
prohibit possession of a handgun in a private means of conveyance, even if parked on the
employer’s premises

(c)(1) Any private entity which provides adequate security measures in a private building and
which conspicuously posts signage in accordance with this section prohibiting the carrying of a
concealed handgun in such building shall not be liable for any wrongful act or omission relating
to actions of persons carrying a concealed handgun concerning acts or omissions regarding such
handguns.

(2) Any private entity-which does not provide adequate security measures in a private building
and which allows the carrying of a concealed handgun shall not be liable for any wrongful act or
omission relating to actions of persons carrying a concealed handgun concerning acts or
omissions regarding such handguns.

(3) Nothing in this act shall be deemed to increase the liability of any private entity where
liability would have existed under the personal and family protection act prior to the effective
date of this act.



(d) The governing body or the chief administrative officer, if no governing body exists, of any of
the following institutions may permit any employee, who is legally qualified, to carry a
concealed handgun in any building of such institution, if the employee meets such institution’s
own policy requirements regardless of whether such building is conspicuously posted in
accordance with the provisions of this section:

(1) a unified school district; ,
(2) a postsecondary educational institution, as defined in K.S.A. 74-3201b, and amendments
thereto;

(3) a state or municipal-owned medical care facility, as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and
amendments thereto;

(4) a state or municipal-owned adult care home, as defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments
thereto; '

(5) a community mental health center organized pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4001 et seq., and
amendments thereto; or

(6) an indigent health care clinic, as defined by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 65-7402, and amendments
thereto.

(e) No public employer shall restrict or otherwise prohibit by personnel policies any employee,
who is legally qualified, from carrying any concealed handgun while engaged in the duties of
such employee’s employment outside of such employer’s place of business, including while in a
means of conveyance. Public employers shall not be liable for any wrongful or negligent act of
an employee carrying a concealed handgun that is not being carried in the course and scope of
such employee’s employment, concerning acts or omissions regarding such handguns.

(H(1) It shall be a violation of this section to carry a concealed handgun in violation of any
restriction or prohibition allowed by subsection (a) or (b) if the building is posted in accordance
with rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general pursuant to subsection (). Any person
who violates this section shall not be subject to a criminal penalty but may be subject to denial to
such premises or removal from such premises.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) and (b), it is not a violation of this section
for the United States attorney for the district of Kansas, the attorney general, any district attorney
or county attorney, any assistant United States attorney if authorized by the United States
attorney for the district of Kansas, any assistant attorney general if authorized by the attorney
general, or any assistant district attorney or assistant county attorney if authorized by the district
-attorney or county attorney by whom such assistant is employed, to possess a handgun within
any of the buildings described in subsection (a) or (b), subject to any restrictions or prohibitions
imposed in any courtroom by the chief judge of the judicial district.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) or (b), it is not a violation of this section for
a law enforcement

officer, as that term is defined in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢22, and amendments thereto, who
satisfies the requirements of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢22(a) or (b), and amendments thereto, to
possess a handgun within any of the buildings described in subsection (a) or (b), subject to any
restrictions or prohibitions imposed in any courtroom by the chief judge of the judicial district.

(g) On and after July 1, 2014, the provisions of this section shall not apply to the carrying of a
concealed handgun in the state capitol.

(h) For the purpose of this section:
10



(1) “Adequate security measures” shall have the same meaning as the term is defined in K.S.A.
2016 Supp. 75-7¢20, and amendments thereto; ’

(2) “building” shall not include any structure, or any area of a structure, designed for the parking
of motor vehicles.

(i) Nothing in this act shall be construed to authorize the carrying or possession of a handgun
where prohibited by federal law.

(j) The attorney general shall adopt rules and regulations prescribing the location, content, size,
and other characteristics of signs to be posted on a building where carrying a concealed handgun
is prohibited pursuant to subsections (a) and (b). Such regulations shall prescribe, at a minimum,
that:

(1) The signs be posted at all exterior entrances to the prohibited buildings;

(2) the signs be posted at eye level of adults using the entrance and not more than 12 inches to
the right or left of such entrance; :

(3) the signs not be obstructed or altered in any way; and

(4) signs which become illegible for any reason be immediately replaced.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 10; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 7; July 1; L. 2007, ch. 166, § 5, May 3; L.
2009, ch. 92, § 5, L. 2010, ch. 140, §9; July 1; L. 2013, ch. 105, §9;L.2014,ch. 134, § 4; L.
2015, ch. 16, § 11; L. 2016, ch. 86, § 5; L. 2017, ch. 93, § 1; July 1.

75-7cl1
Chapter 75.-STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.~-FIREARMS

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 11; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 8; Repealed, L. 2010, ch. 140, § 18; July 1.
75-7c12
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.--FIREARMS
History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 12; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 9; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 10; Repealed, L. 2014,
ch. 97,8 17; July 1.

75-7¢13
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢13. Concealed weapon licensure fund; uses of moneys.
(a) All moneys received by the attorney general pursuant to this act shall be remitted to the state

treasurer who shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and credit it to the concealed
handgun licensure fund, which is hereby created in the state treasury.
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(b) Moneys in the concealed handgun licensure fund shall be used only for: (1) Payment of the
expenses of administration of the personal and family protection act; and (2) transfers to the
county law enforcement equipment fund and to the forensic laboratory and materials fee fund as
provided by subsection (e).

(¢) On or before the 10th day of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer
from the state general fund to the concealed handgun licensure fund the amount of money
certified by the pooled money investment board in accordance with this subsection. Prior to the
10th day of each month, the pooled money investment board shall certify to the director of
accounts and reports the amount of money equal to the proportionate amount of all the interest
credited to the state general fund for the preceding month, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4210a, and
amendments thereto, that is attributable to moneys in the concealed handgun licensure fund.
Such amount of money shall be determined by the pooled money investment board based on: (1)
The average daily balance of moneys in the concealed handgun licensure fund for the preceding
month; and (2) the net earnings for the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding
month.

(d) All expenditures from the concealed handgun licensure fund shall be made in accordance
with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to
vouchers approved by the attorney general for the purposes set forth in this section.

(e) The attorney general shall certify to the director of accounts and reports on each July 1 and
January 1 after moneys are first credited to the concealed handguns licensure fund the amount of
moneys in such fund needed to administer this act. On or before the 15th day of each month after
moneys are first credited to the concealed handguns licensure fund, the director of accounts and
reports shall transfer moneys in the concealed handguns licensure fund as follows: (1) Of the
amount in excess of the amount certified by the attorney general, 20% shall be credited to the
county law enforcement equipment fund; and (2) the remaining 80% shall be credited to a
separate account in the forensic laboratory and materials fee fund cited in K.S.A. 28-176, and
amendments thereto, to be used solely to assist city and county law enforcement agencies to
obtain prompt laboratory services from the bureau. Moneys credited to the forensic laboratory
and materials fee fund as provided by this subsection shall be used to supplement existing
appropriations and shall not be used to supplant general fund appropriations to the attorney
general.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 13; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 11; July 1.

75-7¢14
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7c14. County law enforcement equipment fund; uses of moneys.
(a) There is hereby created in the state treasury the county law enforcement equipment fund.
(b) Moneys in the county law enforcement equipment fund shall be used only to fund grants to

sheriffs' departments for purchases of law enforcement equipment other than motor vehicles.
Such grants shall be administered by the attorney general. Such grants shall be based on

12



applications submitted by sheriffs' departments that demonstrate the need for the equipment for

which the grant is sought and substantiate that grant moneys will not be used to supplant existing
funding of the recipient sheriff's department.

(¢) On or before the 10th day of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer
from the state general fund to the county law enforcement equipment fund interest earnings
based on:

(1) The average daily balance of moneys in the county law enforcement equipment fund for the
preceding month; and

(2) the net earnings rate of the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding month.

(d) All expenditures from the county law enforcement equipment fund shall be made in
accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued
pursuant to vouchers approved by the attorney general for the purposes set forth in this section.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 14; July 1.

75-7¢15
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢15. Liability insurance, persons conducting handgun safety and training courses.

The committee on surety bonds and insurance, within the limitations of appropriations made
therefor, shall purchase such liability insurance as it deems necessary for the protection of
persons engaged in conducting an approved handgun safety and training course against any
liability for injuries or damages arising from the conducting of such course of instruction by such
persons.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 15; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 12; July 1.

75-7¢l16
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢16. Rules and regulations; annual report.

(a) The attorney general shall adopt such rules and regulations as necessary to administer the
provisions of this act.

(b) On or before January 1 of each year, the attorney general shall submit a statistical report to
the governor, president of the senate, the senate minority leader, the speaker of the house of
representatives and the house minority leader indicating the number of licenses issued, revoked,
suspended and denied during the preceding fiscal year and the reasons for the revocations,
suspensions and denials.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 16; July 1
13



75-7¢17
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢c.—FIREARMS

75-7c17. Legislative findings regarding uniform standards for licensing and regulation;
certain local ordinances and resolutions inapplicable; limitations on authority of attorney
general; liberal construction of act. ’

(a) The legislature finds as a matter of public policy and fact that it is necessary to provide
statewide uniform standards for issuing licenses to carry concealed handguns for self-defense
and finds it necessary to occupy the field of regulation of the bearing of concealed handguns for
self-defense to ensure that no honest, law-abiding person who qualifies under the provisions of
this act is subjectively or arbitrarily denied the person's rights. No city, county or other political
subdivision of this state shall regulate, restrict or prohibit the carrying of concealed handguns by
individuals except as provided in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢20, and amendments thereto, and in
K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c¢10(b), and amendments thereto, and K.S.A. 21-421 8(f), prior to its
repeal, or K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-6309(e), and amendments thereto. Any existing or future law,
ordinance, rule, regulation or resolution enacted by any city, county or other political subdivision
of this state that regulates, restricts or prohibits the carrying of concealed handguns by
individuals except as provided in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢20, and amendments thereto, and in
K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c10(b), and amendments thereto, and K.S.A. 21-421 8(f), prior to its
repeal, or K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-6309(e), and amendments thereto, shall be null and void.

(b) Prosecution of any person under the personal and family protection act, and amendments
thereto will be done through the district court.

(¢) The legislature does not delegate to the attorney general the authority to regulate or restrict
the issuing of licenses provided for in this act, beyond those provisions of this act pertaining to
licensing and training. Subjective or arbitrary actions or rules and regulations which encumber
the issuing process by placing burdens on the applicant beyond those sworn statements and
specified documents detailed in this act or which create restrictions beyond those specified in this
act are in conflict with the intent of this act and are prohibited.

(d) This act shall be liberally construed. This act is supplemental and additional to existing
constitutional rights to bear arms and nothing in this act shall impair or diminish such rights.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 17; July 1; L. 2007, ch. 166, § 7; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 13; L. 2011, ch.
30, § 270; July 1; L. 2013, ch. 105, § 10; L. 2015, ch. 16, § 12; July 1.

75-7¢18 ‘
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢18. Severability.

If any provision of this act or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is held
invalid, the invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of the act which can be
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given effect without the invalid provision or application. To this end the provisions of this act are
severable.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 18; July 1.

75-7¢19
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

History: L. 2009, ch. 92, § 4; L. 2010, ch. 140, § 14; L. 2011, ch. 30, § 271; Repealed, L. 2015,
ch. 16, 15; July 1.

75-7¢20
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES ‘
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢20. Concealed handguns in public buildings and public areas therein; when
prohibited; public buildings exempted; definitions.

(a) The carrying of a concealed handgun shall not be prohibited in any public area of any state or
municipal building unless such public area has adequate security measures to ensure that no
weapons are permitted to be carried into such public area and the public area is conspicuously
posted with either permanent or temporary signage approved by the governing body, or the chief
administrative officer, if no governing body exists, in accordance with K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-
7¢10, and amendments thereto.

(b) The carrying of a concealed handgun shall not be prohibited throughout any state or
municipal building in its entirety unless such building has adequate security measures at all
public access entrances to ensure that no weapons are permitted to be carried into such building
and the building is conspicuously posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢10, and
amendments thereto.

(c) No state agency or municipality shall prohibit an employee from carrying a concealed
handgun at the employee’s work place unless the building has adequate security measures at all
public access entrances to ensure that no weapons are permitted to be carried into such building
and the building is conspicuously posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢10, and
amendments thereto.

(d)(1) It shall not be a violation of the personal and family protection act for a person to carry a
concealed handgun into a state or municipal building, or any public area thereof, so long as that
person has authority to enter through a restricted access entrance into such building, or public
area thereof, that provides adequate security measures at all public access entrances and the
building, or the public area thereof, is conspicuously posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2016
Supp. 75-7¢10, and amendments thereto.

(2) Any person, who is not an employee of the state or a municipality and is not otherwise
authorized to enter a state or municipal building through a restricted access entrance, shall be
authorized to enter through a restricted access entrance, provided such person: '
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(A) Is authorized by the chief law enforcement officer, governing body, or the chief
administrative officer, if no governing body exists, to enter such state or municipal building
through a restricted access entrance;

(B) is issued an identification card by the chief law enforcement officer, governing body, or the
chief administrative officer, if no governing body exists, which includes such person’s
photograph, name and any other identifying information deemed necessary by the issuing entity,
and which states on the identification card that such person is authorized to enter such building
through a restricted access entrance; and _

(C) executes an affidavit or other notarized statement that such person acknowledges that certain
firearms and weapons may be prohibited in such building and that violating any such regulations
may result in the revocation of such person’s authority to enter such building through a restricted
access entrance.

The chief law enforcement officer, governing body, or the chief administrative officer, if no
governing body exists, shall develop criteria for approval of individuals subject to this paragraph
to enter the state or municipal building through a restricted access entrance. Such criteria may
include the requirement that the individual submit to a state and national criminal history records
check before issuance and renewal of such authorization and pay a fee to cover the costs of such
background checks. An individual who has been issued a concealed carry permit by the state of
Kansas shall not be required to submit to another state and national records check before
issuance and renewal of such authorization. Notwithstanding any authorization granted under
this paragraph, an individual may be subjected to additional security screening measures upon
reasonable suspicion or in circumstances where heightened security measures are warranted.
Such authorization does not permit the individual to carry a concealed weapon into a public
building, which has adequate security measures, as defined by this act, and which is
conspicuously posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢10, and amendments thereto.

() A state agency or municipality that provides adequate security measures in a state or
municipal building and which conspicuously posts signage in accordance with K.S.A. 2016
Supp. 75-7¢c10, and amendments thereto, prohibiting the carrying of a concealed handgun in such
building, such state agency or municipality shall not be liable for any wrongful act or omission
relating to actions of persons carrying a concealed handgun concerning acts or omissions
regarding such handguns.

() A state agency or municipality that does not provide adequate security measures in a state or

~municipal building and that allows the carrying of a concealed handgun shall not be liable for
any wrongful act or omission relating to actions of persons carrying a concealed handgun
concerning acts or omissions regarding such handguns.

(g) Nothing in this act shall limit the ability of a corrections facility, a jail facility or a law
enforcement agency to prohibit the carrying of a handgun or other firearm concealed or
unconcealed by any person into any secure area of a building located on such premises, except
those areas of such building outside of a secure area and readily accessible to the public shall be
subject to the provisions of subsection (a).

(h) Nothing in this section shall limit the ability of the chief Jjudge of each judicial district to

prohibit the carrying of a concealed handgun by any person into courtrooms or ancillary
courtrooms within the district provided the public area has adequate security measures to ensure
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that no weapons are permitted to be carried into such public area and the public area in
conspicuously posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢10, and amendments thereto.

(i) The governing body or the chief administrative officer, if no governing body exists, of a state
or municipal building, may exempt the building, or any public area thereof, from this section
until July 1, 2017, by adopting a resolution, or drafting a letter, listing the legal description of
such building, listing the reasons for such exemption, and including the following statement: ‘A
security plan has been developed for the building being exempted which supplies adequate
security to the occupants of the building and merits the prohibition of the carrying of a concealed
handgun.” A copy of the security plan for the building shall be maintained on file and shall be
made available, upon request, to the Kansas attorney general and the law enforcement agency of
local jurisdiction. Notice of this exemption, together with the resolution adopted or the letter
drafted, shall be sent to the Kansas attorney general and to the law enforcement agency of local
jurisdiction. The security plan shall not be subject to disclosure under the Kansas open records
act. - -

(j) The governing body or the chief administrative officer, if no governing body exists, of any
postsecondary educational institution, as defined in K.S.A. 74-3201b, and amendments thereto,
may exempt any building of such institution, including any buildings located on the grounds of
such institution and any buildings leased by such institution, or any public area thereof, from this
section until July 1, 2017, by stating the reasons for such exemption and sending notice of such
exemption to the Kansas attorney general.

(k) The provisions of this section shall not apply to:

(1) Any building located on the grounds of the Kansas state school for the deaf or the Kansas
state school for the blind

(2) a state or municipal-owned medical care facility, as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and
amendments thereto;

(3) a state or municipal-owned adult care home, as defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments
thereto;

(4) a community mental health center organized pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4001 et seq., and
amendments thereto;

(5) an indigent health care clinic, as defined by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 65-7402, and amendments
thereto; or

(6) any building owned or leased by the authority created under the university of Kansas hospital
authority act, any building located within the health care district, as defined in the unified
government of Wyandotte county and Kansas City, Kansas City-wide master plan, Rosedale
master plan and traffic study or similar master plan or comprehensive planning or zoning
document approved by the unified government of Wyandotte county and Kansas City, Kansas in
effect on January 12, 2017.

(1) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any law enforcement officer, as defined
in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c22, and amendments thereto, who satisfies the requirements of either
K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c22(a) or (b), and amendments thereto, from carrying a concealed
handgun into any state or municipal building, or any public area thereof, in accordance with the
provisions of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c22, and amendments thereto, subject to any restrictions or
prohibitions imposed in any courtroom by the chief judge of the judicial district.

(m) For purposes of this section:
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(1) ““Adequate security measures’’ means the use of electronic equipment and armed personnel
at public entrances to detect and restrict the carrying of any weapons into the state or municipal
building, or any public area thereof, including, but not limited to, metal detectors, metal detector
wands or any other equipment used for similar purposes to ensure that weapons are not permitted
to be carried into such building by members of the public. Adequate security measures for
storing and securing lawfully carried weapons, including, but not limited to, the use of gun
lockers or other similar storage options may be provided at public entrances.

(2) “Authorized personnel” means employees of a state agency or municipality and any person
granted authorization pursuant to subsection (d)(2), who are authorized to enter a state or
municipal building through a restricted access entrance. ‘

(3) The terms ‘‘municipality’” and ‘‘municipal’’ are interchangeable and have the same meaning
as the term “‘municipality’’ is defined in K.S.A. 75-6102, and amendments thereto, but does not
include school districts.

(4) “Public area” means any portion of a state or municipal building that is open to and
accessible by the public or which is otherwise designated as a public area by the goveming body
or the chief administrative officer, if no governing body exists, of such building.

(5) ““Restricted access entrance”” means an entrance that is restricted to the public and requires a
key, keycard, code, or similar device to allow entry to authorized personnel.

(6) ““State’” means the same as the term is defined in K.S.A. 75-6102, and amendments thereto.
(7) (A) ““State or municipal building’> means a building owned or leased by such public entity. It
does not include a building owned by the state or a municipality which is leased by a private
entity whether for profit or not-for-profit or a building held in title by the state or a municipality
solely for reasons of revenue bond financing.

(B) The term “‘state and municipal building’” shall not include the state capitol.

(8) “Weapon’’ means a weapon described in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-6301, and amendments
thereto, except the term “weapon” shall not include any cutting instrument that has a sharpened
or pointed blade.

(n) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the personal and family protection act.
History: L. 2013, ch. 105, § 2; L. 2014, ch. 97, § 16; L, 2014, ch. 134, § 5; L. 2015, ch. 16, § 13;
L. 2016, ch. 86, § 6; L. 2017, ch. 93, § 2; July 1.

75-7¢c21
- Chapter 75.~-STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS
75-7¢21. Concealed handguns in state capitol.

(a) An individual may carry a concealed handgun in the state capitol provided such-individual is
not prohibited from possessing a firearm under either federal or state law.

This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the personal and family protection act.

History: L. 2013, ch. 105, § 3; L. 2015, ch. 16, § 14; July 1.

18



75-7¢22
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢22. Off-duty, foreign or retired law enforcement officers; carrying a concealed
handgun, when.

(a) An off-duty law enforcement officer may carry a concealed handgun in any building where
an on-duty law enforcement officer would be authorized to carry a concealed handgun regardless
of whether the requirements of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7¢10 or 75-7¢20, and amendments thereto,
for prohibiting the carrying of a concealed handgun in such building have been satisfied,
provided:

(1) Such officer is in compliance with the firearms policies of such officer's law enforcement
agency; and _ -
(2) such officer possesses identification required by such officer's law enforcement agency and
presents such identification when requested by another law enforcement officer or by a person of
authority for the building where the carrying of concealed handguns is otherwise prohibited.

(b) A law enforcement officer from another state or a retired law enforcement officer meeting the
requirements of the federal law enforcement officers safety act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 926B and 926C,
may carry a concealed handgun in any building where an on-duty law enforcement officer would
be authorized to carry a concealed handgun regardless of whether the requirements of K.S.A.
2016 Supp. 75-7¢10 or 75-7¢20, and amendments thereto, for prohibiting the carrying of a
concealed handgun in such building have been satisfied, provided, such officer possesses
identification required by the federal law enforcement officers safety act and presents such
identification when requested by another law enforcement officer or by a person of authority for
the building where the carrying of concealed handguns is otherwise prohibited.

(c) Any law enforcement officer or retired law enforcement officer who is issued a license to
carry a concealed handgun under the personal and family protection act shall be subject to the
provisions of that act, except that for any such law enforcement officer or retired law
enforcement officer who satisfies the requirements of either subsection (a) or (b) the provisions
of this section shall control with respect to where a concealed handgun may be carried.

(d) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any building where the possession of
firearms is prohibited or restricted by an order of the chief judge of a judicial district, or by
federal law or regulation.

(e) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any law enforcement officer or retired law
enforcement officer who has been denied a license to carry a concealed handgun pursuant to
K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto, or whose license to carry a concealed
handgun has been suspended or revoked in accordance with the provisions of the personal and
family protection act.

(f) As used in this section:

(1) "Law enforcement officer" means:

(A) Any person employed by a law enforcement agency, who is in good standing and is certified
under the Kansas law enforcement training act; '
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(B) a law enforcement officer who has obtained a similar designation in a jurisdiction outside the
state of Kansas but within the United States; or

(C) a federal law enforcement officer who as part of such officer's duties is permitted to make
arrests and to be armed.

(2) "Person of authority" means any person who is tasked with screening persons entering the
building, or who otherwise has the authority to determine whether a person may enter or remain
m the building. '

() This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the personal and family protection act.

History: L. 2014, ch. 134, § 1; July 1.

75-7¢23
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢23. Licensure of municipal employees; prohibiting mandatory disclosure and
recording of licensure.

(a) No employee of a municipality shall be required to disclose to such person's employer the
fact that such employee possesses a valid license to carry a concealed handgun. No employee
shall be terminated, demoted, disciplined or otherwise discriminated against due to such
employee's refusal to disclose the fact that the employee possesses a valid license to carry a
concealed handgun. No municipality shall create or maintain a record of an employee's
possession of a valid license to carry a concealed handgun, or that an employee has disclosed the
fact that such employee possesses a valid license to carry a concealed handgun. Any such record
created and maintained by a municipality on or before June 30, 2014, shall be destroyed by such
municipality on or before July 31, 2014.

(b) For purposes of this section, the term "municipality" has the same meaning as that term is
defined in K.S.A. 75-6102, and amendments thereto.

(¢) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the personal and family protection act.

History: L. 2014, ch. 97, § 3; July 1.
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Additional Statutes of Consideration

75-7c24
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢24. Restrictions on carrying unconcealed firearms; exceptions; penalties; sign
requirements.

(a) Provided that the building is conspicuously posted in accordance with rules and regulations
adopted by the attorney general as a building where carrying an unconcealed firearm is prohibited,
it shall be unlawful to carry an unconcealed firearm into such building.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit a law enforcement officer, as defined in
K.S.A. 22-2202, and amendments thereto, from acting within the scope of such officer's duties.

(c) It shall be a violation of this section to carry an unconcealed firearm if the building is posted
in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general pursuant to subsection
(d). Any person who violates this section shall not be subject to a criminal penalty but may be
subject to denial to such premises or removal from such premises.

(d) (1) The attorney general shall adopt rules and regulations prescribing the location, content,
size and other characteristics of signs to be posted on a building where carrying an unconcealed
firearm is prohibited pursuant to subsection (a). Such regulations shall prescribe, at a minimum,
that:

(A) The signs be posted at all exterior entrances to the prohibited buildings;

(B) the signs be posted at eye level of adults using the entrance and not more than 12 inches to
the right or left of such entrance;

(C) the signs not be obstructed or altered in any way;

(D) signs which become illegible for any reason be immediately replaced; and

(E) except as provided in paragraph (2), signs shall include the following, which shall be printed
in large, conspicuous print: "The open carrying of firearms in this building is prohibited."

(2) Such rules and regulations shall provide that the same signage used to. prohibit the carrying of
concealed handguns under K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c0! et seq., and amendments thereto, may be
used to also prohibit the carrying of unconcealed firearms.

History: L.2014,ch.97,§ 5; July L.

75-7¢25
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

75-7¢25. Orders of involuntary commitment for treatment of mental illness or alcohol or
substance abuse; entry in certain databases; possession of firearms prohibited, when.
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(a) After July 1, 2007, all orders of involuntary commitment for care and treatment pursuant to
K.S.A. 59-2966 or 59-29b66, and amendments thereto, and any orders of termination of discharge
shall be immediately forwarded to the Kansas bureau of investigation for entry into the '
appropriate state and federal databases.

(b) Upon a finding that the mentally ill person is a danger to self or others, the court shall notify
the mentally ill person subject to involuntary commitment for care and treatment that it is a
violation of the law to possess a firearm. Upon a finding that a proposed patient is a person with
an alcohol or substance abuse problem subject to involuntary commitment for care and treatment,
the court shall notify the person that it is a violation of the law to possess a firearm. Upon release,
the state hospital shall notify the patient that it is a violation of the law for the patient to possess a
firearm and provide information to the patient regarding the restoration procedure.

History: L. 2006, ch. 210, § 11; July 1; L. 2007, ch. 166, § 8; L. 2013 ch. 36, § 8; July 1.

75-7¢26
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7¢.—FIREARMS

75-7¢26. Discharge of person involuntarily committed for treatment for mental illness or
alcohol or substance abuse; restoration of ability to legally possess firearm, when.

On and after July 1, 2007,

(a) a person who has been discharged pursuant to K.S.A. 59-2973 or 5 9-29b73, and amendments
thereto, may file a petition in the court where treatment was ordered pursuant to K.S.A. 59-2966
or 59-29b66, and amendments thereto, for the restoration of the ability to legally possess a
firearm.

(b) Notice of the filing of such petition shall be served on the petitioner who originally filed the
action pursuant to K.S.A. 59-2952, 59-2957, 59-29b52 or 59-29b57, and amendments thereto, or
the petitioner's attorney and the county or district attorney as appropriate.

(¢) If the court finds the person is no longer likely to cause harm to such person's self or others,
the court shall issue a certificate of restoration to the person. Such restoration shall have the effect
of restoring the person's ability to legally possess a firearm, and the certification of restoration
shall so state.

(d) The certificate of registration issuedpursuant to this section shall only apply to the possession
of a firearm for the purposes of an alleged violation of subsection (@)(7) of K.S.A. 21-4204, prior
to its repeal, or subsection (a)(13) of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-6301, and amendments thereto.

History: L. 2006, ch. 210, § 12; L. 2011, ch. 30, § 272; July 1.
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75-7¢27 . :
Chapter 75.--STATE DEPARTMENTS; PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES
Article 7c.—FIREARMS

-75-7¢27. Petition for relief of firearm prohibitions; procedure.

(a) An individual who has been adjudicated as a mentally ill person subject to involuntary
commitment for care and treatment, or who is prohibited from shipping, transporting,
possessing or receiving firearms or ammunition by subsection (d)(4) or (g)(4) of 18 U.S.C. §
922, may petition for relief of disabilities for the purpose of firearm prohibitions imposed under
state and federal laws.
(b) A petitioner shall submit such petition to a court of competent jurisdiction within this state.
(¢) The court may only consider petitions for relief due to mental health adjudications or
commitments that occurred within the state.
(d) The court shall consider the petition for relief, in accordance with the principles of due
process. Such petitioner shall submit, and such court shall receive and consider:

(1) The circumstances regarding the firearm disability imposed by federal law;

(2) such petitioner's mental health records;

(3) such petitioner's criminal history records; and

(4) such petitioner's reputation, developed through character witness statements,

testimony or other character evidence.
(e) The court shall grant relief only if such court determines there is clear and convincing
evidence that:

(1) The petitioner will not be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety; and

(2) granting such relief would not be contrary to the public interest.
(f) If the court denies the petition for relief, the petitioner may petition a court of proper
jurisdiction for a de novo judicial review of the court's decision to deny such petition.
(g) Documentation of a granted petition shall be submitted to the Kansas bureau of
investigation. The Kansas bureau of investigation shall immediately cause such order to be
entered into the appropriate state and federal databases.

(h) As used in this section:

(1) "Mentally ill person subject to involuntary commitment for care and treatment" has

the same meaning as defined in K.S.A. 59-2946, and amendments thereto.

(2) '"Due process" requires that:
(A) The petitioner shall have the opportunity to submit such petitioner's own
evidence to the court;
(B) an independent decision maker, other than the individual who gathered the
evidence for the court acting on the application, shall review such evidence; and
(C) arecord of the proceedings shall be created and maintained for review.

History: L. 2011, ch. 100, § 1; July 1.
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21-6332
Chapter 21.-- CRIMES AND PUNISHMENT
Article 63.—CRIMES AGAINST THE PUBLIC SAFETY

21-6332. Possession of a firearm under the influence.

(a) Possession of a firearm under the influence is knowingly possessing or carrying a loaded
firearm on or about such person, or within such person's immediate access and control while in a
vehicle, while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, to such a degree as to render such
person incapable of safely operating a firearm.

(b) Possession of a firearm under the influence is a class A nonperson misdemeanor.

(c) This section shall not apply to:

(1) A person who possesses or carries a firearm while in such person's own dwelling or place of
business or on land owned or possessed by such person; or

(2) the transitory possession or use of a firearm during an act committed in self-defense or in
defense of another person or any other act committed if legally justified or excused, provided
such possession or use lasts no longer than is immediately necessary.

(d) If probable cause exists for a law enforcement officer to believe a person is in possession of a
firearm under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, such law enforcement officer shall
request such person submit to one or more tests of the person's blood, breath, urine or other
bodily substance to determine the presence of alcohol or drugs. The selection of the test or tests
shall be made by the officer.

(e) (1) If a law enforcement officer requests a person to submit to a test of blood under this
section, the withdrawal of blood at the direction of the officer may be performed only by:

(A) A person licensed to practice medicine and surgery, licensed as a physician's assistant, or a
person acting under the direction of any such licensed person;

(B) a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse;

(C) any qualified medical technician, including, but not limited to, an emergency medical
technician-intermediate, mobile intensive care technician, an emergency medical technician-
intermediate/defibrillator, an advanced emergency medical technician or a paramedic, as those
terms are defined in K.S.A. 65-6112, and amendments thereto, authorized by medical protocol;
or

(D) a phlebotomist.

(2) A law enforcement officer may direct a medical professional described in this subsection to
draw a sample of blood from a person if the person has given consent or upon meeting the
requirements of subsection (d).

(3) When so directed by a law enforcement officer through a written statement, the medical
professional shall withdraw the sample as soon as practical and shall deliver the sample to the
law enforcement officer or another law enforcement officer as directed by the requesting law
enforcement officer as soon as practical, provided the collection of the sample does not
jeopardize the person's life, cause serious injury to the person or seriously impede the person's
medical assessment, care or treatment. The medical professional authorized herein to withdraw
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the blood and the medical care facility where the blood is drawn may act on good faith that the
requirements have been met for directing the withdrawing of blood once presented with the
written statement provided for under this subsection. The medical professional shall not require
the person to sign any additional consent or waiver form. In such a case, the person authorized to
withdraw blood and the medical care facility shall not be liable in any action alleging lack of
consent or lack of informed consent.

(4) Such sample or samples shall be an independent sample and not be a portion of a sample
collected for medical purposes. The person collecting the blood sample shall complete the
collection portion of a document provided by law enforcement.

(5) If a sample is to be taken under authority of a search warrant, and the person must be
restrained to collect the sample pursuant to this section, law enforcement shall be responsible for
applying any such restraint utilizing acceptable law enforcement restraint practices. The restraint
shall be effective in controlling the person in a manner not to jeopardize the person's safety or
that of the medical professional or attending medical or health care staff during the drawing of
the sample and without interfering with medical treatment.

(6) A law enforcement officer may request a urine sample upon meeting the requlrements of
subsection (d).

(7) If a law enforcement officer requests a person to submit to a test of urine under this section,
the collection of the urine sample shall be supervised by:

(A) A person licensed to practice medicine and surgery, licensed as a physician's assistant, or a
person acting under the direction of any such licensed person;

(B) a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse; or

(C) alaw enforcement officer of the same sex as the person being tested.

The collection of the urine sample shall be conducted out of the view of any person other than
the persons supervising the collection of the sample and the person being tested, unless the right
to privacy is waived by the person being tested. When possible, the supervising person shall be a
law enforcement officer. The results of qualitative testing for drug presence shall be admissible
in evidence and questions of accuracy or reliability shall go to the weight rather than the
admissibility of the evidence. If the person is medically unable to provide a urine sample in such
manner due to the injuries or treatment of the injuries, the same authorization and procedure as
used for the collection of blood in paragraphs (2) and (3) shall apply to the collection of a urine
sample.

(8) The person performing or assisting in the performance of any such test and the law
enforcement officer requesting any such test who is acting in accordance with this section shall
not be liable in any civil and criminal proceeding involving the action.

(f) (1) The person's refusal shall be admissible in evidence against the person at any trial on a
charge arising out of possession of a firearm under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both.

(2) Failure of a person to provide an adequate breath sample or samples as directed shall
constitute a refusal unless the person shows that the failure was due to physical inability caused
by a medical condition unrelated to any ingested cicehol or drugs.

(3) In any criminal prosecution for a violation of this section, if the court finds that a person
refused to submit to testing when requested pursuant to this section, the county or district
attorney, upon petition to the court, may recover on behalf of the state, in addition to the criminal
penalties provided in this section, a civil penalty not exceeding $1,000 for each violation.

(g) If a person who holds a valid license to carry a concealed handgun issued pursuant to K.S.A.
2016 Supp. 75-7c01 et seq., and amendments thereto, is convicted of a violation of this section,
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such person's license to cairy a concealed handgun shail be revoked for a minimum of one year
for a first offense and three years for a second or subsequent offense.

(h) In any criminal prosecution for possession of a firearm under the influence of alcohol or
drugs, or both, evidence of the concentration of alcohol or drugs in the defendant's blood, urine,
breath or other bodily substance may be admitted and shall give rise to the following:

(1) If the alcohol concentration is less than .08, that fact may be considered with other competent
evidence to determine if the defendant was under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both.

(2) If the alcohol concentration is .08 or more, it shall be prima facie evidence that the defendant
was under the influence of alcohol.

(3) If there was present in the defendant's bodily substance any narcotic, hypnotic, somnifacient,
stimulating or other drug which has the capacity to render the defendant incapacitated, that fact
may be considered to determine if the defendant was under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or
both.

(i) The provisions of subsection (h) shall not be construed as limiting the introduction of any
other competent evidence bearing upon the question of whether or not the defendant was under

the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both.

() Upon the request of any person submitting to testing under this section, a report of the results
of the testing shall be made available to such person.

History: L. 2014, ch. 97, § 6; July 1.
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