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Attorney General Jim Hood has received your request for an official opinion and
assigned it to me for research and response.

Your letter states that the Mississippi Department of Public Safety ("DPS") recently
received an inquiry from the State of ldaho concerning recognition of that state's regular
and enhanced carry licenses. You note that ldaho law, unlike Mississippi law, allows
applicants that are at least 'lB years of age to receive a regular carry permit. ln this
regard, this cffice notes that recent anrendrnents to.Section 45-9-101(13) do allow
applicants who are 1B years of age to obtain a Mississippi concealed carry license if the
person is a member or veteran of the United States Armed Forces and the applicant
holds a valid Mississippi driver's license with the "Veteran" designation. Under ldaho
law, a holder of an enhanced license must be at least 21 years of age.1

Your letter notes that pursuant to Section 45-93-101 (19) the Legislature has authorized
"any person holding a valid unrevoked and unexpired license to carry stun guns,
concealed pistols, or revolvers issued in another state shall have such license
recognized by this state to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers." Your letter

I Your letter states that Mississippi law also only allows enhanced licenses to be

issued to applicants over 2l years old. Our revieu,ofthe slatutes indicated no restrictions on a

person who is l8 years ofage and otherwise eligible for a concealed carry license from being able

io obtain an enhanced carry endorsement under Seclion 9'l -37-7 (2) to his concealed carry license-
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notes that Section 97 -37 -7 (2) does not contain similar language.

Your precise opinion request states as follows:

Please render an opinion stating whether Mississippi's recognition of ou!
of-state concealed weapons licenses is limited to regular licenses or if it
applies to enhanced licenses as well. Also, please render an opinion
whether Mississippi may recognize an ldaho concealed carry license
issued to a person who is under 21 years of age.

R-esponse and Legal Analysis

With regard to your second request concerning whether Mississippi would recognize a
sister state's concealed carry license issued to a person over 182 but younger than 21, it
is the opinlon of this office that the answer is yes. Section 45-9-101(18) specifically
states that anyone holding a "valid unrevoked and unexpired license to carry stun guns,
concealed pistols, or revolvers issued in another state shall have such license
recognized by this state to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers . . ." The
staLuterdoes-not*authorize-offiojals lo oorbevond"the face.of,'anoukofistatelicense to
det&mifo fir,tt-F-"uriEr'fl"nts 6atfftr6iLtaie fi"vhaiL{rf"ul.bo.'bufui6inqlhd \.:
conle"-afedr'ueapl5ni r["fue1 riin'u rEufrs"i.,;1id;'r;$";;tibo'ano\ptti&rHtn{: "r
concealed carry of stun guns, pistols and revolvers, then the license "shall be
recognized" in this state. This would apply even if the holder were only 18 years of
age.t o

The first part of your question seeks our opinion on whether recognition of out-of-state

2 
See generally, Section 97 -37 -13 regarding providing weapons to minors under the

age of I 8.

3 Our opinion could be different ifanother state atlowed permits to be issued to
minors. By statute, Mississippi makes the providing of such a weapon to a minor a crime. Where
accepting another state's permit would directly violate penal statutes ofthis state such as
prohibitions against minors having weapons, our opinion would most likely be different. This
issue is not raised by your request and, accordingly, not answered herein.

a Mississippi law only allows for the licensed carry ofconcealed stun guns, pistols
and revolvers. Idaho law, according to the ldaho Aftomey General's webpage allows concealed
license holders to also carry, concealed the following: "[A]ny dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger,
pistol, revolver or any other deadly or dangerous weapon." An Idaho concealed license holder in
this State would not be authorized to carry concealed "any bowie knife, dirk knife, butcher knife,
switchblade knife, metallic knuckles, blackjack, slingshot, pistol, revolver, or any rifle with a

barrel of less than sixteen ( I 6) inches in length, or any shotgun with a barrel of less than eighleen
(18) inches in length, machine gun or any fully automatic firearm or deadly weapon, or any
muffler or silencer for any firearm . . ." See Miss. Code Ann. Section 97'37-l (as amended).

550 HIGH STREET - POST OFFICE BOX 220. JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI 392O5.O22O
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concealed weapons licenses applies only to regular concealed licenses or enhanced
licenses as well. Your letter suggests that because Section 45-9-101 contains out-of-
state recognition language and Section 97 -37 -7 (2) does not, out-of-state recognition
should only be given to regular concealed licenses. The premise of your letter appears
to be that there are two distinct Mississippi concealed carry licenses. We do not read
the statute in that manner. ln our opinion, all licenses are issued pursuant to Section
45-9-101. Section 97-37-7(2) simply provides that "[a] person licensed under Section
45-9-101'who voluntarily completei an instructionai Course may carry in additional
places such as courtrooms except during a judicial proceeding, and locations listed in
Section 45-9-101(1 3). Thus, it is our opinion that all licenses, enhanced and regular,
are issued pursuant to Section 45-9-101, and the fact that Section 97 -37 -7 does not
contain language concerning out-of-state recognition does not govern whether this state
will recognize out-of-state licenses.

However, we do not believe that the fact that Mississippi would recognize an
"enhanced" out-of-state permit requires that the designation of the out-of-state license
as "enhanced" controls where that person may carry a weapon while in this State.
Section 45-9-101(13) states where a concealed license holder cannot carry a concealed

rta in
lyt o rS

n of
lndividuals with oulof-state concealed licenses, of any type, are not licensed "under
Section 45-9-101 ." For this reason, it is the opinion of this office that out-of-state
concealed license holders are not authorized to carry weapons in those places listed in
Section 45-9-1 01 (1 3).s

Conclusion

To summarize, it is the opinion of this office that Mississippi law requires the recognition
of a valid, unrevoked out-of-state concealed carry license properly issued to an
individual 1B years or older unCer the law of another state. Additionally, it is the opinion
of this office that out-of-state concealed license holders are not authorized to carry
weapons in those places listed in Section 45-9-101(13), which is limited to enhanced
license holders licensed under Section 45-9-101 with the enhanced carry rights granted
under Section 97 -37 -7 (2).

lf this office can be of further assistance, do not hesitate to contact us.

5 Stated otherwise, the carry rights ofout-of-state concealed Iicensed holders are
governed by Mississippi law, not the law ofthe issuing jurisdiction. As previously noted, Idaho,
as an example, authorizes holders of its enhanced licenses to carry concealed weapons other than
pislols, revolvers or stun guns. An Idaho licensee would not be authorized to carry those other
weapons in Mississippi nor would that person be authorized to carry in those places authoriz-ed

only for Mississippi licensees who have completed an instructional course.

t
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Sincerely,

JIM HOOD, ATTORNEY GENERAL

f, I i; f'r I f."X,'+,l=F . {_t i t,E 
.ru.,i- ffi }q;

By:

R G. Luke
Assistant Attorney General
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Keycite Yeltow Flag - Negativc Trcatmcnt
Proposed l-€gislation

Wcst's Annotated Mississippi Codc

Titlc 45. Public Safety and Good Order
Chapter 9. Weapons

Liccnse to Can--v Conccalcd Pistol or Revoh-cr

Miss. Code Ann. $ 4S-9-1ol

S 45-q-1o1. Licensing generalll'

Curr.cntncss

(b) The licensee must carry the license. together with valid identiftcation, at all times in which the licensee is carrying
a stun gun. concealed pistol or revolver and must display both the lic€nse and proper identification upon demand by

a law eoforcement officer. A violation of the provisions ofthis paragraph (b) shall constitute a noncriminal violation
with a penalty ofTwenty-five Dollars ($25.00) and shall be enforceable by summons.

(2) Thc Department ofPublic Safcty shall issue a license ifthc applicant:

(a) Is ll rcsidcnl of thc sLate. Howevcr, this residency requirenrent may be waived if the applicant possesses a valid
permit from anothcr state. is active military personnel stationed in Mississippi, or is a retired law enforcement officer
establishing residency in th€ state:

(b)(i) Is twenty-one (21) years ofage or older; or

(ii) Is at least eighteen (18) years of age but not yet twenty-one (21) years of age and the applicant

L Is a member or veteran of the United States Armed Forces. including National Guard or Reserve; and

2. Holds a valid Mississippi driver's license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety;

(c) Does not suffer fron a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a stun gun, pistol or revolver;

(d) Is not ineligible to possess a firearn by virtue ofhaving been convicted ofa felony in a court ofthis state, ofany
other state. or ofthe United States withou( having been pardoned for same;

(l )(a) Except as otherwise provided, the Department of Public Safety is authorized to issue licenses to carry stun guns,

concealed pistols or revolvers to persons qualified as provided in this section. Such licenses shall be valid throughout the

state for a period offive (5) years from the date ofissuance. Any person possessing a valid license issued pursuant to this

section may carry a stun gun. concealed pistol or concealed revolver.
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(e) Docs not chronically or habitually abuse controlled substances to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired.
It shall be presumed rhat an applicant chronically and habitually uses controlled subs(ances to the extent that his

faculries are impaired if the applicarlt has been voluntarily or involuntarily committed to a treatment facility for the

abuse of a controlled substance or been found guilty of a crime under the provisions of the Uniform Controlled
Substanc€s Law or similar laws ofany other state or the United States relating to controlled substances within a three-
year period immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted;

(f) Does not chronically and habiually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are inlpair€d. It
shall be presumed that an applicant chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal
facuhies arc impaircd ifthe applicant has been volunlarily or involuntarily comrnitted as an alcoholic to a treatmeot
fircility or has been convicted of trvo (2) or more offenses related to the use of alcohol uoder the laws of this state or
similar laws of any other state or the United States wilhin the three-year period immediately pre€ding the date on
which the application is submitted:

(g) Desires a legal means to carry a stun gun, concealcd pistol or revolver to defend himself;

(h) Has not been adjudicated mentally incompetent, or has waited five (5) years from the date of his resloration to
capacity by court order;

(i) Has not bcen voluntarily or involuntarily committ€d to a mental ilstitution or mental health treatment facility
unless he possesses a certificate from a psychiatrist licensed in this state that he has not suffered from disability for
a period of five (5) years;

O Has not had adjudication ofguilt ivithhcld or impositioo ofscntcnoc suspcrrdcd on any fclony unlcss thrcc (J) ycars

have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled;

{ k I ls nor a fugitive from justict: and

(l) Is not disqualilicd to posscss a weapon based on federal law

(3) Thc Dcpartment of Pubtic Safety may deny a liccnse if the applicant has been found guilty of onc or more crimes

of violence constituting a misdemeanor unless three (3) years have elapscd since probation or any other conditions set

by the court have been fulfilled or expunction has occurred prior to the date on which the application is submitted,

or may revoke a license if the licensee has been found guilty of one or more crimes of violence within the preceding

three (3) years. The department shall, upon notification by a law enforcement agency or a court and subsequent written

verification, suspend a license or the processing of an application for a licensc if the licensee or applicant is arrested or
formally chargcd with a crime which would disqualify such person from having a license under this section, until fioal

disposition of the case. The provisions of subsection (7) of this scction shall apply to any suspcnsion or revocation of a

license pursuant to the provisions ofthis section.
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(4) The application shall be completed, under oath, on a fornl promulgated by the Department of Public Safety and
shall include only:

(a) The name, address, place and date ofbirth. race, sex and occupation ofthe applicant;

(b) The driver's license number or social securitl, number ofapplicant;

(c) Any previous address ofrhe applicant for the two (2) years preceding the date ofthe applicationl

(d) A statement that the applicant is in compliance with criteria contained within subsections (2) and (3) ofthis secrion;

(e) A statcment thal the applicant has been furnished a copy ofthis section and is knowledgeable ofits provisions;

(0 A conspicuous warniog tha( the applicatioo is executed under oath and that a knowingly false answer to any
question, or the knowing submission of any false document by the applicant, subjccts the applicant to criminal
prosecutioni and

(g) A sratemenr that the applicant desires a legal means to carry a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver to defend
himself-

(5) The applicant shall submit only the followinB ro the Department of Public Safery:

(a) A completed application as described in subscction (4) ofthis section:

(b) A full-face photograph of (he applicant takcn within rhe preceding thirty (30) dal,s ir which the head, including
hair, in a size as dctermined by the Department ofPublic Safety, except that an applicant who is younger than twenty-
one (21) years ofage must submit a photograph in orofile ofthe applicant;

(c) A nonrefundable Iicense fee of Eighty Dollars (980.00). Costs for processing the set of fingerprints as required in
paragraph (d) ofthis subsection shall be borne by the applicant. Honorably retired law enforcement officers, disabled
veterans and active duty members of the Armed Forces of the United States shall be exempt fronr the payment of
the license fee;

(d) A full set ol fingerprints ofthe applicant adninistered by the Department of Public Safety; and

(e) A waiver authorizing the Department of Public Safety access to any records concerning commitments of the

applicant to any of the treatment facilities or institutions referred to in subsection (2) and permitting access to all the

applicaot's criminal records.
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(6)(a) The Department of Public Safety, upon receipt of the items listed in subsection (5) of this section, shall forward
the full set ofhngerprints of the applicant to the appropriate agencies for state and federal processing.

(b) The Department ofPublic Safety shall forward a copy ofthe applicant's application to the sheriffofthe applicant's
county of residence and, if applicable, the police chief of the applicant's municipality of residence. The sheriff of the

applicant's county of residence and. if applicablc, the police chicf of the applicant's municipality of residence may,

at his discretion, participate in the process by submitting a voluntary report to the Department of Public Safety

containing any readily discoverable prior information that he feels may be pertinent to the licensing ofany applicant.
The reporting shall be made within thirty (30) days after the date he receives the copy ofthe application. Upon receipt of
a response fronr a sheriffor police chief. such sheriffor police chiefshall be reimbursed at a rate set by the department.

(c) The Department of Public Safery shall, within forty-five (45) days afler lhe date of receipt of the items listed in
subsection (5) ofthis section:

(i) Issue the license;

(ii) Deny the application based solely on the ground that the applicant fails to quatify under the criteria listed in
subsections (2) and (3) of this section. Iithe Department ofPublic Safety denies the apptication, it shall notify the

applicant in writing, stating the ground for denial, and the denial shall be subject to the appeal process set forth
in subsection (7); or

(iii) Notify the applicant that the department is unable to make a determination regarding the issuance or denial of
a liccnse within the forty-five-day period prescribed by this subscction, and provide an estimate of the amount of
timc the department will need to make the delermination.

(d) In the event a legible set offingerprirts, as determined by the D€partment ofPublic Safety and the Federal Bureau
of Investigation. cannot be obtained after a minimum of two (2) attempts, the Depa(ment of Public Safety shall
determine eligibility based upon a name check by the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol and a Federal Bureau of
Investigation name check conducted by the Mississippi Highway Safety Palrol at the request of the Department of
Public Salety.

(7Xa) If the Department of Public Safety denies the issuance of a license, or suspends or revokes a license, the party
aggrieved may appeal such denial, suspension or revocation to the Commissioner of Public Safety, or his authorized
agent, within thirty (30) days after the aggrieved party receives written notice of such denial, suspension or revocation.
The Commissioner of Public Safety, or his duly authorized agent, shall rule upon such appeal within thirty (30) days

after the appeal is filed and failure to rule within this thirty-day period shall constitute sustaining such denial, suspension

or revocation. Such review shall be conducted pursuant to such reasonable rules and regulations as the Comnrissioner
of Public Safety may adopr.

(b) Ifthe revocation. suspension or denial ofissuance is sustained by the Commissioner ofPublic Safety, or his duly
authorized agent pursuant to paragraph (a) ofthis subsection, the aggrieved party may file within ten (10) days after

the rendition of such decision a petition in the circuit or county court of his residence for review of such decision. A
hearing for review shall be held and shall proceed bcfore the court without a jury upoo the record made at the hcaring
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before the Cornmissioner ofPublic Safety or his duly authorized agent. No such party shall be allowed to carry a stun
gun, concealed pistol or revolver pursuant to the provisions of this section while any such appeal is pending.

(8) The Department ofPublic Safety shall maintain an automated listing oflicense holders and such informarioo shall be

available onlinc. upon request, at all times. to all law enforcement agencies through the Mississippi Crime Information
Center. However, the records ofthe department relating to applications for licenses to cally stun guns, concealed pistols

or revolvers and records relating to license holders shall be exempt from the provisions ofthe Mississippi Public Records
Act of 1983, and shall be released only upon order ofa court having proper jurisdiction over a petition for release of
the record or records.

(9) Within thirty (30) days after the changing ofa permanent address, or within thirty (30) days after having a license lost
or destroyed, the licensee shall notify the Department ofPublic Safety in writing ofsuch chaoge or loss. Failure to notify
the Department of Public Safety pursuant to the provisions of this subsection shall constitute a noncriminal violation
with a penalty ofTwenty-five Dollars ($25.00) and shall be enforceable by a summons.

(10) In the event that a stun gun, conc€aled pistol or revolver licetrse is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the licetrse

was issued shall comply with the provisions of subsection (9) of this section and may obtain a duplicate, or substitute
thereof, upon payment of Fifteen Dollars ($15.00) to the Departnrent of Public Safety. and furnishing a notarized
statement to the department that such license has been lost or destroyed.

( I I ) A license issued under this section shall be revoked if the licensee becomes ineligible under the criteria set forth in
subsection (2) ofthis seclion.

( I 2Xa) No less than ninety (90) days prior to the expiration date ofthe license. the Department of Public Safety shall mail
to each licensee a written notice of the expiration and a renewal form prescribed by the department. The licensee must
renew his license on or before the expiration date by filing with the department the reoewal form, a notarized affidavit
stating that the liccnsee remains qualified pursuaut to the criteria specified in subsectiotrs (2) and (3) ofthis secdon, and
a full sct of fingerprints administered by the DepaJtment of Public Safety or the sheriff of the county of residence ofthe
licensee. The first renewal may be processed by mail and the subsequent renewal must be made in person. Thereafter
every other renewal may be processed by mail to assure that the applicanl must appear in person every ren (10) years

for the purpose ofobtaining a new photograph.

(i) Except as provided in this subsection, a renewal fee of Forty Dollars ($40.00) shall also be submitted along with
costs for processing the fingerprints:

(ii) Honorably retired law enforcement oflic€rs, disabled veterans and active duty members ofthe Armed Forces of
the United States shall be exempt from the renewal fee; and

(iii) The renewal fee for a Mississippi resident aged sixty-five (65) years of age or older shall be Twenty Dollars
($20.00).



(b) The Department of Pubtic Safety shall forward the full set of fingerprints of the applicant to the appropriate
agencies for state and federal processing. Thc license shall be renewcd upon receipt of the completed renewal
application and appropriatc payment of fees.

(c) A licensee who fails to hle a renewal applicatiotr otr or before its expiration date must reBew his license by paying
a late fee of Fifteen Dollars ($15.00). No license shall be renewed six (6) months or more after its expiratioo date, and
such license shall be deemed to be permanently expired. A person whose license has been permanently cxpired may
reapply for licensure; however, an application for licensure and fees pursuant to subsection (5) ofthis section must be

subnitted, and a background investigation shall be conducted pursuant to the provisions of this section.

( l3) No license issued pursuant to this section shall authorize any person to carry a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver
into any place of nuisance as defined in Section 95-l-1. N,lississippi Code of 1972; any police, sheriff or highway patrol
station; any detention facility, prison or jail; any courthouse: any courtroom, except that nothing in this section shall
preclude ajudge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in his courtroom;
any polling place; any meeting place ofthe governing body of any governmental entity; any meeting of the Legislature
or a committee thereof; any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms; any portion of an
establishnent, licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, that is primarily devoted to
dispensing alcoholic beverages; any portion ofan establishment in which beer or light wine is consumed on the premises,

that is primarily devoted to such purpose; any elementary or secondary school lacility; any junior college, communily
college, college or university facility unless for the purpose of participating in any authorized firearms-lelated activity;
inside the passenger terminal of any airport, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal frearm
into the terminal ifthe firearm is encased for shipment, for purposes ofchecking such hrearm as baggage to be lawfully
transported on any aircraft; any church or other place ofworship, except as provided in Scction .15-9- l7l; or any placr
where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law. In addition to the places enumerated in this subsection, the
carrying of a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver may be disallowed in any place in the discretion of the person or
entity exercising control over the physical location ofsuch place by the placing of a written notice clearly readable at a
distance ofnot less than ten (10) feet that the "carrying ofa pistol or rcvolvcr is prohibitcd." No license issued pursuant

to this section shall authorize the participants in a parade or demonstration for which a permit is required to carry a

stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver.

(14) A law enforcemcnt officer as defined in Scctrol 45-6-3, chiefs ofpolice, sheriffs and persons licensed as professional
bondsnen pursuant to Chapter 39, Title 83, Mississippi Code of 1972, shall bc exempt from the licensing requiremenrs

of this section. The liccnsing requirements of this section do not apply to the carrying by any person of a stun gun, pistol
or revolver, knife, or other deadly weapon that is not concealed as delLned in Sccrion 97--17- t.

(16) All fees collected by the Department of Public Safcty pursuant to this section shall be deposited into a special fund
hereby crcated iD the Statc Treasury and shall be used for implementation and administration of this scction. After
the close of cach fiscal ycar, the balance in this fund shall be cerrified to the Legrslature and then may be used by the

Depa(ment of Public Safety as directed by the Legislature.

S 45.9-101. Licensing generally, MS ST S 45-9-101

(15) Any person who knowingly submits a false answer to any question on an application for a license issued pursuant
to this section, or who knowingly submits a false document when applying for a license issued pursuant to this section.

shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a misdeneanor and shall be punished as provided in Section 99-19-31. Mississippi
Code of i972.
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( l8) Nothing in this sectioo shall be construed to require or allow the registration, documentation or providing of serial

numbers with regard to any stun gun or firearm.

(19)Any person holding a valid unrevoked and unexpired license to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers issued

in anothcr state shall havc such license recognized by this state to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers. Thg
Dcpartment ofPublic Safety is authorized to enter into a reciprocal agreement with another state ifthat state requires a

written agreement in order to recognize licenses to ca!ry stun guns, conc€aled pistols or revolvers issued by this state.

(20) Thc provisions ofthis section shall be under the supervision ofthe Commissioner ofPubtic Safety. The com-missioner

is authorized to promulgate reasonable rules and regulations to carry out the provisions ofthis section.

(21) For the purposes of this section, Ih€ term "stun gun" means a portable device or weapon from which an electric

current, impulse, wave or beam may be directed, which current, impulse. wave or beam is designed to incapacitate

temporarily, injure. momentarily slun. knock out, cause mental disorientation or paralyze.

(22Xa) From and after January l, 2016, the Commissioner ofPublic Safety shall promulgate rules and regulations which
provide that licenses authorized by this section for honorably retired law enforcement officers and honorably retired

correctional officers from the Mississippi Department ofCorrections shall (i) include the words "rctired law erforcement
officer" on the front of the license, and (ii) that the license itself havc a red background to distinguish it from other
licenses issued under this section.

(b) An honorably retired law enforcement officer and honorably retired correctional officer shall provide the followiDg
information to rcccive the license described in this section: (i) a letter, with the official Ietterhcad of the agency or
department from which such officer is retiring, which explains that such officer is honorably retired, and (ii) a letter
with rhe official letterhead ofthe agency or department, which explains that such officer has completed a certified law
enfoacement training academy.

(23) A disabled veteran who seeks to qualily for an exemption under this section shall be required to provide, as proof
of service-connected disability, verification from the United States Department ofVeterans Affairs.

(24) A license under this section is not required for a loaded or unloaded pistol or revolver to be carried upon the person

in a sheath. belt holster or shoulder holster or in a purse, handbag, slrtchel, other similar bag or briefcase or fully enclosed

case ifthe person is not engaged in criminal activity othcr than a misdemeanor traffic offense, is not orherwise prohibited

from possessing a pistol o! revolver undcr stare or federal law, atrd is trot in a location prohibited under subsection ( l3)
ofthis scction.

(17) All funds received by a sheriff or police chief pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be deposited into
the gencral fund of thc county or municipality, as appropriate, and shall be budgeted to the sheriffs office or police

department as appropriate.
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