

PASS IT ON...tell your family, friends, and neighbors who don't Click It about Idaho's New Safety Restraint Law:

Beginning July 1, 2003, drivers and passengers in motor vehicles manufactured with safety restraints must be properly restrained. The changes to the existing law are as follows:

- The law applies to all front and back seating positions.
- 2. All adult violators, 18 and older, in any seating position will receive a \$10 citation.
- **3.** Adult drivers with any unbelted occupants under 18 years of age will receive a \$10 citation.
- 4. Drivers under 18 years old will be cited if **anyone** under 18 is not properly restrained. The fine will be \$10 plus court costs for a total of \$42.50.
- 5. While still a secondary law requiring an officer to make the traffic stop for another violation of law, the officer may write the safety restraint citation alone without the primary citation.

We Care, so CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!



This lifesaving message is brought to you by the IdahoTransportation Department's Office of Highway Safety and your Law Enforcement Agencies.

WHY CLICK IT?

"Properly restrained" requires that the occupant wear both lap and shoulder belt and that they be securely in the proper position in relation to your body. Improper usage is illegal and unsafe, and could lead to serious internal injuries or death. CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!

Every day, five Idahoans are either killed or seriously injured in traffic crashes. CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!

The air bag/safety restraint combination is 85% effective at reducing moderate and serious head injuries. Yet, 60% of Idaho's motor vehicle fatalities involve a serious head injury as an immediate or contributing factor for the traffic death. CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!

In fatal crashes, 75 percent of occupants totally ejected are killed. Safety restraints are effective in preventing ejections. CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!

A 30-35 mph crash is equivalent to a three story jump and impact into the ground.

CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!

CAICK IT

DON'T RISK IT!

Eighty five percent of the medical costs for motor vehicle occupants injured in crashes are paid by others primarily through taxes

and your insurance premiums. Hospital costs are 55 percent higher for those not wearing safety restraints. Don't be a burden on your friends, neighbors, and fellow Idahoans. CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!

Your children learn by example. Set a life-saving example for them. CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!

Children should progress through three types of child safety seats until they are physically developed enough to ride restrained by adult safety restraints.

- 1. Rear-Facing Infant Seats (Birth to 20 pounds and under 1 year old).
- 2. Forward-Facing Child Safety Seats (20-40 pounds).
- 3. Booster Seats (40-80 pounds)

Booster Seats: Children who have completely outgrown their car seats should ride in a belt-positioning booster seat until an adult safety restraint fits them properly (usually 4' 9" and 80 pounds, about 8 years old). Children 4 to 8 years old are four times more likely to suffer a serious head injury while being restrained in a safety restraint rather than a booster seat.

ALL children under 13 years of age and less than 100 pounds should ride properly restrained in the back seat, and **NEVER** in front of an air bag.

You may need your safety restraint only once, but when?

CLICK IT, DON'T RISK IT!