Contact the State Brand Inspector
Toll Free: 1.800.772.8442 (Idaho only)
State Brand Inspector
Business Operations Specialist
A brand inspection is required when:
• Ownership changes in any manner
• Leaving the State of Idaho
• Going to slaughter
Generally, it is the responsibility of the “Seller” or “current owner” to obtain the brand inspection and pay the appropriate inspection fees.
Always ask for a brand inspection when buying livestock! If the seller issues you a “bill of sale” instead, make sure the bill of sale is valid, and you call for a brand inspection within 10 days from the date of sale. In this case, the buyer will also be responsible for getting a brand inspection within 10 days and paying the brand inspection fees.
If you accept a bill of sale in lieu of a brand inspection certificate, and the animal is carrying a brand not recorded to the person who issued the bill of sale, then you could very well have to clear that brand before a brand inspection could be done.
Not obtaining a brand inspection when required by the Idaho brand laws is considered an infraction for the first offense and a misdemeanor for the second offense, punishable by a fine not to exceed $300 and or six months in jail.
THE BRAND BOOK IS NOW AVAILABLE ONLINE
Apply to Record A Brand
Submit your brand application and fees to the State Brand Recorder. You will want to start this process at least two to three weeks before you want to brand. DO NOT USE A BRAND UNTIL THE BRAND CERTIFICATE HAS BEEN ISSUED.
Transfer a Brand
Release a brand from the former owner and transfer it to a new owner.
Commonly Asked Questions
Wondering when a brand inspection is required or what makes a livestock transaction legal? You will find answers here.
Locations throughout Idaho for brand inspectors and information.
Idaho Code, Statutes and Brand Board Rules
Find the brand laws, including related laws, and the Brand Board rules.
Our per head charge for brand inspections.
Links to helpful animal and agricultural related websites.