Contact ISP Dispatchers at *ISP (*477)
Official Government Website

Recording a Brand

DO NOT WAIT – Brands must be registered with this office to be valid in Idaho. The brand application process takes two to three weeks. Do not brand until the Brand Certificate has been issued.

 

Process:

  • Submit the brand application and fees to the State Brand Recorder.
  • Allow time for application processing.
  • Fees must be paid before applications are processed.
    • Fees – $50.00 to $150.00.
    • Call the Brand office at 208-884-7070 or 1-800-772-8442 for the specific amount due.

Application Form:

  • Submit five to six brand choices in the provided spaces.
  • Brands are researched in descending order.
  • Brands recorded statewide.
  • Brands not acceptable for recording are Dot brands or brands applied to the jaw/neck.
  • Sheep: Registered for Anywhere Sheep – only one brand issued for each design.
  • Cattle: Right shoulder, right rib, right hip, left shoulder, left rib, and left hip.
  • Horse/Mule: right shoulder, right hip, left shoulder, and left hip.
  • When approved, a brand certificate will be mailed.

Earmarks: No longer recorded in Idaho. Use is encouraged, but others may also duplicate the mark.

Legal Owners on the application

If a brand will be recorded in more than one name:

  • List all parties,
  • Minor children – parents can be listed as co-owners,
  • Partnerships – List all partners
  • Corporation – Include the president or other officer,
  • DBA – must also list brand owner names.

Using “AND” or “OR” between names of brand owners does not change the ownership rights of the brand but determines specific ownership at the time of sale and may determine how the check for the livestock sale is written.

  • “AND” indicates livestock sales must have the signatures of all parties.
  • “OR” indicates livestock may be sold without the knowledge of all parties.

Issue of New Brand

  • When a new brand is issued, owners receive two laminated brand certificates.
  • DO NOT USE A BRAND UNTIL THE BRAND CERTIFICATE HAS BEEN ISSUED FROM THIS OFFICE.
  • Additional laminated brand certificates may be purchased for $3.00 (set of two).

Record a Brand Application Form

Transferring a Brand

When a brand is transferred, all parties listed as owners must have notarized signatures on the transfer form.

The law of the State of Idaho classifies a livestock brand as “Personal Property.” Therefore, the necessary brand transfer forms must be submitted with the proper fee to transfer a livestock brand or divide ownership.

  • The person(s) being removed from a brand registration must have a notarized signature on the form releasing their claim.
  • To add part owner(s), all current owners named on the registered brand must have a notarized signature on the transfer form authorizing the new part owner(s).
  • If any owner of a registered brand is deceased, only the Personal Representative or spouse of the deceased may release the claim. The Personal Representative must include a copy of the Will or Probate showing their appointment. The spouse may use a copy of the death certificate. The signature(s) of any Personal Representative or spouse must be notarized.
  • In divorce cases, the person being removed from the registered brand must have a notarized signature on the form releasing their claim or enclose the part of their divorce decree showing who was awarded the brand.
  • A brand inspection of livestock carrying a registered brand is required before any registered brand transfer is completed.

Livestock showing a registered brand denotes ownership of that animal by the registered brand owner. Any registered brand transfer with livestock carrying that brand is considered a transfer ownership under Idaho Code § 25-1120.

Transfer of Brand Application Form

ver: 3.5.2a | last updated:
Jump back to top of page button